News Nation Logo


VIDEO | Asaduddin Owaisi's response to 'Jai Shri Ram', 'Vande Mataram' chants in Lok Sabha

After Taking His Oath In Urdu, He Said: Jai Bheem, Jai Meem, Takbeer Allahu Akbar, Jai Hind.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 18 Jun 2019, 05:54:05 PM
AIMIM MP from Hyderabad Asaduddin Owaisi

New Delhi:

President of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) Asaduddin Owaisi was greeted with chants of "Jai Shri Ram" and "Vande Mataram" on Tuesday when he took oath as member of the 17th Lok Sabha, and his response was -- "Allahu Akbar”, “Jai Hind”. As Owaisi started walking towards the Chair’s podium, members of the ruling side started chanting “Jai Shri Ram”, “Vande Mataram” and “Bharat Mata Ki Jai”. Owaisi, however, remained undeterred, and rather asked the members to keep chanting.

After taking his oath in Urdu, he said: "Jai Bheem, Jai Meem, Takbeer Allahu Akbar, Jai Hind."

"Today, I was welcomed with some slogans when I stood up to take my oath on the Constitution of India," he tweeted later.

After Owaisi, Shafiqur Rahman Barq, Samajwadi Party MP, triggered a controversy again by refusing to chant "Vande Mataram" in Lok Sabha, as according to him, "it was against Islam". After taking the oath as a member of Lok Sabha, Barq said: "Jahan tak Vande Mataram ka taaluq hai, it is against Islam we cannot follow it." (As far as Vande Mataram is concerned, it is against Islam we cannot follow it).

Soon after that several MPs started chanting "Vande Mataram" and "Jai Shree Ram" in the Low House of the Parliament.

Taking a dig, Congress President Rahul Gandhi asked BJP Arun Kumar Sagar, who chanted 'Bharat Mata ki Jai' twice, to raise the slogan "one more time".

Gandhi again repeated "one more time" after the next BJP MP Ajay Kumar also raised the slogan of "Bharat Mata ki Jai".

Kumar than retorted that he will say the slogan again if Gandhi can complete it by chanting 'Jai' following which Gandhi said "Jai Hind" and was joined by other Congress members.

Earlier, when a DMK member hailed Periyar, Kaliangar, Gandhi and Ambedkar, the Chair said only the prescribed format should be taken on record.

However, some BJP members asked Revolutionary Socialist Party leader N K Premachandran as to why he was not objecting to raising of such slogans by opposition MPs like he did when the BJP members took oath and raised slogans on Monday.

To this, Premachandran said the Chair has already given direction in this regard. BJP MP Mathura Hema Malini concluded her oath with 'Rahey, Radhye' and a phrase from shloka in praise of Lord Krishna.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Jun 2019, 05:54:05 PM