News Nation Logo


VK Sasikala succeeds J Jayalalithaa as chief of AIADMK Parliamentary board

The Poll Was Necessitated By The Demise Of Jayalalithaa In December 2016. AIADMK Deputy General Secretary, TTV Dinakaran, Made The Announcement In A Party Release, Which Was Issued With Theapproval Of Sasikala.

PTI | Updated on: 09 Mar 2017, 08:36:05 PM
VK Sasikala (File photo)


The AIADMK Parliamentary Board was reconstituted on Wednesday as party General Secretary V K Sasikala, replaced her predecessor late J Jayalalithaa as its head.  

The Board chooses AIADMK's candidates for elections and the shuffle comes on a day when the Election Commission announced byelection to the RK Nagar assembly constituency on April 12.   

The poll was necessitated by the demise of Jayalalithaa in December 2016. AIADMK Deputy General Secretary, TTV Dinakaran, made the announcement in a party release, which was issued with the"approval" of Sasikala.   

"The Parliamentary Board has been reconstituted," with Sasikala as it Chairperson, he said even as he also was appointed as one of the members.   

The others in the reconstituted Board include AIADMK Presidium Chairman and School Education Minister KA Sengotayanand former Minister P Valarmathi.   

The previous Parliamentary Board headed by Jayalalithaa included expelled party leader and former Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and his aide E Madusudanan. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Mar 2017, 08:25:00 PM