News Nation Logo


Amit Shah, Smriti Irani take oath as Rajya Sabha members

Bharatiya Janta Party President Amit Shah And Union Minister For Information And Broadcast Smriti Irani Took Oath As Rajya Sabha Members On Friday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 25 Aug 2017, 12:11:08 PM

New Delhi:

Bharatiya Janta Party president Amit Shah and Union Minister for Information and Broadcast Smriti Irani took oath as Rajya Sabha members on Friday.

Vice President and Upper House chairman Venkaiah Naidu presided the oath taking ceremony. 

With this, Shah has made his maiden entry into the house of elders and so did Irani. The duo had won their seat from Gujarat by clinching 46 votes each. 

They were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others. 

After their victory lat week, PM Modi had congratulated the two. 

“Congratulations to BJP President @AmitShah & ministerial colleague @smritiirani on getting elected to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat,” PM Modi had tweeted.


For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Aug 2017, 09:35:00 AM