News Nation Logo

AIADMK MLAs elect Sasikala Natarajan as Legislative party leader; O Paneerselvam resigns

Following Late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa’s Death On December 5 2016, VK Sasikala Was Appointed AIADMK's General Secretary.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Manas Dwivedi | Updated on: 05 Feb 2017, 04:13:45 PM
AIADMK General Secretary Sasikala Natarajan- ANI Image

New Delhi :

In the latest update in the Tamil Nadu politics, the AIADMK MLAs have elected General Secretary Sasikala Natarajan as Legislative party leader after the party meet in Chennai on Sunday. Current CM O Panneerselvam has resigned from the post to make way for Chinnamma.

He has also proposed the name of Chinnamma (Sasikala Natarajan) as the leader of AIADMK Legislature Party Leader, said AIADMK.

Since Saturday, it was being speculated that there could be a change in the guards of Tamil Nadu politics as a section of ruling AIADMK MLAs were likely to urge Sasikala, to take over the reins of the coastal state's government at a meeting in Chennai on Sunday.

Here are the live updates:

#3:37 PM

After chairing AIADMK MLAs' meet Sasikala Natarajan greets supporters outside party Head Quarters in Chennai

#3:35 PM

It was Thiru.O. Paneerselvam who insisted first, that I become the Chief Minister of the State: Sasikala Natarajan 

#3:34 PM

Following demise of Honourable Amma (Jayalalithaa), it was Thiru. O.Paneerselvam who urged me first to take charge as the GS of AIADMK: Sasikala Natarajan

#3:30 PM: Tamil Nadu: Elected as Legislative party leader of AIADMK, Sasikala Natarajan chairs MLAs meet at AIADMK HQ in Chennai

# 3:16 PM: Chinnamma Sasikala Natarajan all set to become the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

# 3:13 PM: Sasikala reaches AIADMK headquarters in Chennai


Among others, Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai had backed VK Sasikala for the Chief Minister’s post.

Following late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa’s death on December 5 2016, VK Sasikala was appointed AIADMK's General Secretary.

On Friday, Sasikala had appointed senior leaders, including some former Ministers and a former Mayor, to key party posts. Former Ministers K A Sengottaiyan, S Gokula Indira and B V Ramana, besides ex-Mayor Saidai S Duraisamy were made the AIADMK’s Organisation Secretaries.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Feb 2017, 03:01:00 PM

Related Tags:

AIADMK Sasikala