News Nation Logo


Goa polls: Manohar Parrikar sworn in as CM for fouth time; Floor test on Thursday

After The Poll Result On March 11, BJP Has Shown The Support Of 21 Out Of The 40 Newly Elected MLAs.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Manas Dwivedi | Updated on: 14 Mar 2017, 06:53:01 PM

New Delhi/Panaji :

After the Supreme Court cleared the decks for the BJP government in Goa by refusing the plea of Congress, the Goan stalwart has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa for the fourth time. 

After the poll result on March 11, BJP has shown the support of 21 out of the 40 newly elected MLAs.

The apex court at the same time directed conducting of the floor test on Thursday. The swearing in ceremony is touted to take place at 5 PM on Tuesday.

Also read: Manohar Parrikar takes oath as Goa's CM, Here is all you want to know about him



Looking at the number game to reach the magic figure of 21 seats, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Goa Forward Party (GFP) - and the independents take the BJP’s tally to 21 t in the 40-member House.

Also read: Arun Jaitley says Congress complaining a bit too much on Goa Govt formation by BJP, talks about 'the facts'

Besides BJP’s 13 MLAs, three each from MGP and GFP and two independent members have pledged support for government formation under Parrikar.

As it happened from the oath taking ceremony live from Goa: 

#5:52 PM

Oath taking ceremony concludes. 

#5:42 PM

All 8 ministers take the oath to form the new Goa cabinet. 

#5:36 PM

MGP's another leader, Babu Ajgaokar also takes oath. 

#5:35 PM

CM Manohar Parrikar takes oath twice. In the first attempt, he took oath as a 'minister' later he was told to take the oath of secrecy again.

#5:34 PM

MGP's Sudin Dhavlikar also given position in Parrikar's cabinet. Takes oath as minister.

#5:33 PM

Francis D'souza also finds place in Goa cabinet. Takes oath as minister.

#5:32 PM

Goa Forward Party's Vijay Sardesai takes oath, sworn in as a minister.

#5:28 PM

8 other ministers to also take the oath. 

#5:27 PM

Parrikar took oath for secrecy of the post in Marathi.  

#5:25 PM 

Manohar Parrikar takes oath as the Chief Minister of Goa. Governor Mridula Sinha to administered the ceremony. 

#5:20 PM

Oath taking ceremony starts. 

# 3:50 PM

Meanwhile, the oath taking ceremony will soon start at the Goa Raj Bhavan. Governor Mridula Sinha to administer the ceremony. 

# 3:45 PM 

 Manohar Parrikar all set to take oath as Goa CM for the third time. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 Mar 2017, 03:55:00 PM

Related Tags:

Manohar Parrikar Goa Polls