News Nation Logo


Who are the Jats? History of quota demand

The Jat Protest In Haryana Demanding Reservation In Jobs Has Turned Violent Leading To A Tense Situation In The State. Here Is All You Need To Know About The Jat Protest In Haryana:

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Bindiya Bhatt | Updated on: 21 Feb 2016, 09:06:42 PM

New Delhi:

The Jat protest in Haryana demanding reservation in jobs has turned violent leading to a tense situation in the state. Here is all you need to know about the Jat protest in Haryana: 

Who are the Jats?

Jats belong to a north Indian martial and farming community, which is not traditionally considered as ‘backward’. Economically and politically well off,  Jats make 29% of Haryana's total population.

What are they demanding? 

Jats want to be declared OBC (other backward class). This will help them secure 27% OBC reservation in government jobs.

What did Haryana govt offer the Jat community?

The Haryana Chief Minister offered the Jat community a special backward class quota but they rejected it citing their economic status.

What the SC says on Jat reservation?

According to Supreme Court, caste alone cannot the reason to provide reservation for any community. It said ‘social backwardness’ is the key to determine backwardness.

If jat quota is added to the existing 27% for OBC plus 22.5% for SC & ST, it will flout Supreme Court’s cap of  50% reservations.

History of Jat quota demand:


Jats have been protesting to be on the OBC list of the Union government and other states since 1991, when the Mandal Commission report was implemented.


The National Commission for Backward Classes had rejected their demand in Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh to be in central OBC list.


Bhupinder Singh Hooda promised them a quota. He became Chief Minister.


Jats and four other castes were included under 10% Specially Backward Class (SBC) quota


High Court had set aside Specially Backward Class quota after recommendations were rejected by the Supreme Court.

March 2015:

The Centre’s decision to include Jats from 9 states – Haryana, Bihar, Gujarat, Himachal, MP, Delhi, Rajasthan, UP & Uttarakhand – was rejected by the Supreme Court.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 Feb 2016, 05:01:00 PM