News Nation Logo

Yogi govt transfers 19 IAS officers, Dipak Agarwal becomes new Saharanpur commissioner

Secretary (Revenue) Dipak Agarwal Will Be The New Commissioner Of Saharanpur In Place Of Mahendra Prasad Agarwal, Who Has Been Transferred To The Finance Department, An Official Spokesman Said.

PTI | Updated on: 01 Jun 2017, 11:56:28 PM
File photo of UP CM Yogi Adityanath


The Uttar Pradesh government on Thursday posted senior IAS officer Dipak Agarwal as the new divisional commissioner of Saharanpur which has witnessed repeated instances of caste clashes since May 5.

As many as 19 other IAS officers have also been transferred by the state government, an official spokesman said.

Secretary (Revenue) Dipak Agarwal will be the new commissioner of Saharanpur in place of Mahendra Prasad Agarwal, who has been transferred to the finance department, an official spokesman said.

Secertary medical health and family welfare V Hekali Jhimomi has been made commissioner of Mirzapur in place of Ranjan Kumar who has been sent to revenue department assecretary, the spokesman said.

Secretary culture Manoj Misra has been made the commissioner of Faizabad.

Principal Secretary to the chief minister, Shashi Goyal,has been given the additional charge of the Additional Resident Commissioner of the state in New Delhi.

Also Read: Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi denied permission to visit riot-hit Saharanpur

Principal secretary Prashant Trivedi, who was awaiting posting, has been made the principal secretary medical health and family welfare and Additional Commissioner MNREGA Anuj Kumar Jha has been made the Director Information, the spokesman added.

Violence first broke out in Saharanpur about 40 days ago following a procession to mark Ambedkar Jayanti. On May 5, aperson was killed and 15 people were injured in clashes between Dalits and upper caste Thakurs.

About a dozen police vehicles were set ablaze and 12 policemen were injured on May 9. On May 23, another person was shot dead and two others were wounded.

On May 24, the UP government had suspended Saharanpur SSP Subhash Chandra Dubey and District Magistrate N P Singh while transferring Divisional Commissioner M P Agarwal and DIG J K Shahi.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 01 Jun 2017, 11:32:00 PM

Related Tags:

Saharanpur Dipak Agarwal