News Nation Logo

Zoramthanga sworn-in as new Mizoram chief minister

Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan Administered The Oath Of Office And Secrecy To Zoramthanga And His Council Of Ministers At Raj Bhavan Located

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 15 Dec 2018, 02:29:33 PM
Chief Ministers of other northeastern states were present during the ceremony

New Delhi:

Mizo National Front (MNF) leader Zoramthanga was sworn in as Mizoram's new chief minister on Saturday. Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Zoramthanga and his Council of Ministers at Raj Bhavan located in Aizawl. The MNF president took the oath in Mizo language. This will be for the third term that the MNF is forming the government in Mizoram and after a gap of ten long years.

ALSO READ | 7 civilians killed in firing by security forces during protests after encounter in Jammu and Kashmir's Pulwama

Chief Ministers of other northeastern states were present during the ceremony, according to news agency ANI.

The MNF bagged 26 seats during the recently held election in the 40-member Assembly. Mizoram which went to polls on November 28 saw a voter turnout of about 80 per cent. 

As many as 7,70,395 lakh voters were eligible to cast their vote in the state including 3.75 lakh males and 3.95 lakh females.

Two days back, MNF President Zoramthanga was been nominated as the leader of the legislative party by its newly elected legislators. 

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) also opened its account in the state for the first time with BD Chakma winning from Tuichawnd constituency. Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who contested from Champhai South and Serchhip, has also lost both the seats. He lost Champhai to the MNF's TJ Lalnuntluanga, while Serchhip was snatched by Zoram People's Movement's (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Dec 2018, 02:22:02 PM