News Nation Logo

AIADMK Announces KP Munusamy, M Thambi Durai, GK Vasan As its Candidates For Rajya Sabha polls

The Release Said Vaasan, Chief Of TMC, Will Be The Candidate For The Rajya Sabha Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 09 Mar 2020, 02:01:08 PM

AIADMK has released a list of its three candidates (Photo Credit: ANI)

New Delhi:

The AIADMK has released a list of its three candidates for upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. Among those who have been named are former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai, senior party leader KP Munusamy and GK Vasan of Tamil Maanila Congress. Vasan is chief of Tamil Maanila Congress.

The information was shared by a release issued by AIADMK coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Chief Minister and co-coordinator K Palaniswami named Thambidurai and Munusamy and allotted one seat to the TMC.

The release said Vaasan, chief of TMC, will be the candidate for the Rajya Sabha elections.

On April 2, six Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu will retire and the DMK days ago named three nominees including its sitting MP in the upper house, ‘Tiruchy’ Siva.

Based on the strength of the ruling party and main opposition DMK and their respective allies in the Assembly, all the six candidates are likely to be elected unopposed.

Elections will be held on March 26 in the unlikely event of a contest.

With PTI Inputs

For all the Latest India News, South News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Mar 2020, 01:01:41 PM