News Nation Logo


Karnataka Government Reduces Fine For Traffic Rules Violation, Check Revised Charges Here

The Motor Vehicles Amendment Act 2019, Which Came Into Effect From September 1, Had Significantly Increased The Penalty Amount For Traffic Violations.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 21 Sep 2019, 07:48:52 PM
Representational Image/PTI

New Delhi:

Giving up to the public pressure for reducing the fine for violation of traffic rules under the new Motor Vehicle Act, the Yediyurappa-led BJP government in Karnataka on Saturday revised the charges for several traffic rule violations such as over-speeding, driving dangerously, riding a bike without helmet among many others.

The Motor Vehicles Amendment Act 2019, which came into effect from September 1, had significantly increased the fine for traffic violations. The Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill 2019, which was passed by the Parliament on August 5, was aimed at enhancing road safety, improving process of issuing licenses and permits, weeding out corruption in RTO offices and ushering use of technology for regulating road traffic.

Under the Motor Vehicles Amendment Act 2019, for driving without a license, there will be a fine of Rs 5,000. Earlier, Rs 500 was the fine. The penalty for driving despite disqualification has been increased from Rs 500 to Rs 10,000. For travelling without a ticket, the fine has been increased from Rs 200 to Rs 500.

New Motor Vehicle Act: Here’s How Much You Will Have To Pay For Violating Traffic Rules

On the other hand, the penalty for over-speeding will be between Rs 1,000 and Rs 2,000 for the light motor vehicles, while medium passenger or goods vehicles will have to pay between Rs 2,000 and Rs 4,000, respectively with impounding of driving license for a second or subsequent offence. 

In the case of drink and drive, the penalty has been increased to imprisonment up to 6 months and/or fine up to Rs 10,000 for the first offence and imprisonment up to 2 years and/or fine of Rs 15,000 for the second offence. 

However, the Karnataka government has now reduced these fine to nearly half, even as Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari's opposed any such move. After the revision, people of Karnataka will now have to pay Rs 500 for not wearing helment or the seat belt instead of Rs 1,000 under decided under the new Motor Vehicle Act. THe penalty for over speeding has also been reduced to Rs 2,000 for 4 wheelers and Rs 1,000 for MCGs.

Below are the revised traffic rule violation penalty charges in Karnataka:

SR NO. Traffic Rule Violation Fine Under New Act Revised Charges
1 Helmet Rs 1,000 Rs 500
2 Seat Belt Rs 1,000 Rs 500
3 Rash Driving  Rs 5,000 to Rs 10,000 and imprisonment Rs 1,500 for 2 wheelers and 3,000 for 4 wheelers
4 Without license Rs 5,000 and community service Rs 1,000 for 2 wheelers; Rs 2,000 for LMV; Rs 5,000 for HMV
5 Speed Violation Up to Rs 4,000 Rs 1,000 for MCG and Rs 2,000 for 4 wheelers
6 Insurence Up to Rs 4,000 and imprisonment Rs 1,000 for 2 wheelers; Rs 2,000 for LMV; Rs 4,000 for HMV
7 Using Mobile While Driving Up to Rs 5,000 Rs 1,500 for 2 wheelers; Rs 3,000 for LMV; Rs 5,000 for HMV

For all the Latest India News, South News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Sep 2019, 07:48:52 PM