News Nation Logo


Navratri 2019: Significance, Date, Time and Ghatasthapana Subh Muhurat

We At News Nation Bring You The Final Guide To The Chaitra Navratri.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 06 Apr 2019, 07:41:12 AM
The nine-day festival marks the beginning of the new year according to several communities across India. (File photo)

New Delhi:

Chaitra Navratri 2019 Dates in India: One of the most important festivals of the Hindu calendar, the pious Chaitra Navratri will begin on April 6 from tomorrow. The nine-day festival marks the beginning of the new year according to several communities across India. Not just Goddess Durga but this Navratri will also celebrate Lord Ram’s birth. The markets are decorated with bright, colourful red ‘chunnis’, garlands and Goddess Durga’s beautiful posters. Out of the four Navratris, the Chaitra and the Sharadiya are the most popular. The others are Aashada and Magha Gupta Navratri. In case you are worried about the exact Ghatasthapana Muhurta and other rituals, worry not. We at News Nation bring you the final guide to the Chaitra Navratri:

When is Chaitra Navratri beginning?

The Chaitra Navratri will begin from April 6 and culminate on April 13. Though there are reports that Ram Navmi will be celebrated on April 14 in some parts of the country, experts say that the Navratri will culminate on April 13 itself, which means Ram Navmi will also be celebrated on next Saturday.

Significance of Chaitra Navratri?

Chaitra Navratri marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year as per the Luni-solar calendar and usually falls in the month of Chaitra, the first month of lunar calendar. The nine forms of Goddess Durga - Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandharghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri – will be worshipped during Chaitra Navratri.

What is the Ghatasthapana Muhurta for Chaitra Navratri?

According to Drik Panchang, Ghatasthapana Muhurta falls on Pratipada Tithi.

Pratipada Tithi Begins = 14:20 on April 5.

Pratipada Tithi Ends = 15:23 on April 6.

The Ghatasthapana Muhurta is for four hours - 06:10 to 10:19. 

According to a report on Live Hindustan site, Abhijit Muhurat is the best for ‘kalash sthapana’. This year, the special muhurat starts from 7:20 am and ends at 8:53 am. In case a devotee is unable to do the pooja, the report says that she/he can do ghatsthapana between 11:30 am and 12:18 pm. 

Ghatasthapana is one of the significant rituals during Navratri. It marks the beginning of nine days of festivity.  

For all the Latest Lifestyle News, Religion News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Apr 2019, 01:34:08 PM