News Nation Logo


Quick facts about ISRO's big launch; 20 satellites in single mission

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Will Launch No Less Than 20 Satellites Under One Mission On June 22 From The Dhawan Space Centre At Sriharikota In Andhra Pradesh.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Bindiya Bhatt | Updated on: 17 Jun 2016, 04:55:31 PM
ISRO to launch 20 satellites on June 22

New Delhi:

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) will launch no less than 20 satellites under one mission on June 22 from the Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh. ISRO had successfully launched the first technology demonstrator of indigenously made Reusable Launch Vehicle (RLV) on May 23 from Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh.

In June 22 ISRO mission, the satellites will be launched from the Second Launch Pad (SLP) of Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 09.25 AM, ISRO said. As ISRO gears up for the big launch, here are the five things you should know:

1. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle PSLV-C34 will carry all the satellites, including Cartosat-2, India’s earth observation spacecraft.

2. 19 co-passenger satellites weighing about 560 kg at lift-off into a 505 km polar Sun Synchronous Orbit (SSO) will be launched by the PSLV-C34.

3. The total weight of all the 20 satellites carried on board PSLV-C34 is about 1,288 kg.

4. The co-passengers include satellites from the US, Canada, Germany and Indonesia as well as two satellites from Indian Universities.

5. The mission will include LAPAN A3 of Indonesia, BIROS of Germany, SKYSAT GEN 2-1 of US, MVV of Germany among the micro satellites.

For all the Latest Science News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Jun 2016, 01:14:00 PM

Related Tags:

ISRO Satellite