News Nation Logo


Hamari Sansad Sammelan: Session 8 – Ravi Kishan and Hans Raj Hans – Star power in Parliament

At Session 8 Of News Nation's Prestigious Hamari Sansad Sammelan, Singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans Will Talk About The Star-power In Parliament.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 21 Jun 2019, 08:36:36 PM
Politician Hans Raj Hans (File Photo)

New Delhi:

From Sunny Deol to Urmila Matondkar to Mimi Chakraborty to Gautam Gambhir, how well star-power clicked in 2019 Lok Sabha Elections? Will this latest trend of celebrity politics give birth to some good leaders or will their blockbusters be restricted to outside Parliament? At Session 8 of News Nation's prestigious Hamari Sansad Sammelan, singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans will talk about the star-power in Parliament. Actor-turned-politician Ravi Kishan also took part at the event via video conference from Gorakhpur.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, celebrity politics took centre stage with political parties banking on film stars and cricketers, who too tried their luck in the arena of politics. Riding on their celebrity power, several film and TV celebrities also managed to win seats to the 17th Lok Sabha. However, some new star entrants like Prakash Raj and Urmila Matondkar, who contested on Congress tickets, suffered big defeats as well.

READ | Hamari Sansad Sammelan: Session 3 – Dynasty politics in Parliament

BJP candidates Sunny Deol and Hema Malini both emerged victories despite the endless social media memes made during their election campaigns. Estranged BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha, who switched to the Congress days ahead of the Lok Sabha polls, suffered defeats from the Patna Sahib seat. Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan, one of the prominent speakers of our Hamari Sansad Sammelan, made it to the Parliament. Whereas, the other actors-turned-netas - Urmila Matondkar, Jaya Prada, and Dinesh - were not that lucky to bag a seat.

While Moon Moon Sen's defeat from Asansol was a major drawback for the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, Mimi Chakraborty's win from Jadavpur constituency was a major boost. BJP's Babul Supriyo and Manoj Tiwari registered wins from important constituencies. Poonam and Nikhil both lost in their maiden run while actress Nusrat Jahan and cricketer Gautam Gambhir won from their seats with high vote margins.

READ | Hamari Sansad Sammelan: Session 4 - Jaya Prada breaks down as she recalls ‘suicide moment’

Sportspersons Vijender and Krishna got knocked out while Hans Raj Hans sang his way into the hearts of people. Comedian Bhagwat Mann will be the only AAP member in the Lok Sabha.

For all the Latest Specials News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Jun 2019, 08:36:36 PM