News Nation Logo

India vs Australia: BCCI announces squad; Dinesh Karthik left out, Pant and KL included

The Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) Selection Committee Has Finally Announced The 15-member Squad For The Upcoming Limited Overs Series Against Australia. The Two-match T20 Series, Followed By Five-match ODI Series Is Scheduled To Start On 24th February At Vishakhapatnam.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vedant Sharma | Updated on: 15 Feb 2019, 05:47:32 PM
BCCI announces 15 member squad for limited overs series against Australia (Image Credit: DNA)


  • Mayank Markande in included in the T20 side. 
  • KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant are back in the limited overs circuit.
  • No rest for the senior players.

New Delhi:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee has finally announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming limited overs series against Australia. The two-match T20 series, followed by five-match ODI series is scheduled to start on 24th February at Vishakhapatnam. 

The series will also be India's last assignment before the forthcoming World Cup, and it's probably the last opportunity for the players to grab their respective spots and board flight to England. 

Here's the squad: 

India’s squad for T20I series against Australia: Virat (Capt), Rohit (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande

India’s squad for 1st and 2nd ODI against Australia: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MSD (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Siddharth Kaul, KL Rahul

India’s squad for remaining three ODIs: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MSD (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant

BCCI selection committee has made some interesting decisions, including young sensation Mayank Markande in the T20 squad against Australia. The likes of KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant are also back in the limited overs arena. Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested against the Kiwis is also back. However, India's Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane didn't make his way through.

Further, the left-arm spearhead Khaleel Ahmed who had a forgettable outing in New Zealand is dropped from both T20I and ODIs. Dinesh Karthik and Ravindra Jadeja also didn't find a place in the squad. Meanwhile, there were some reports suggesting rest for senior players, but with the squad announced, the BCCI has made it look pretty clear that their will be no rest for players till the World Cup.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Feb 2019, 04:57:33 PM