News Nation Logo

Buddh Circuit to host T1 Truck Racing Championship on March 19

Besides Inducting New Indian Drivers To The Sport, Season 4 Will Also Feature Indian Drivers Who Took Part In 2016. The Championship Will Continue To Host Experienced International Drivers Representing Six Teams.

PTI | Updated on: 20 Feb 2017, 09:20:21 PM
Buddh circuit (Getty images)

New Delhi:

The Season 4 of the Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will begin on March 19 at the Buddh International Circuit, it was announced on Monday. Conducted under the aegis of world body FIA and India body FMSCI, the one-make championship will feature modified Prima trucks.

"Truck racing is a fun sport that many did not realisecould actually be done, but Tata Motors made it happen. What makes the T1 PRIMA championship all the more fulfilling is the sense of purpose it brings, not only to the motorsports scene, but how it ties into the Indian commercial vehicles industryand more importantly to the profession of truck driving," said championship mentor Vicky Chandhok.     

Tata Motors formally kicked off preparations for the event, with the second edition of the T1 Racer Program (TRP2.0) in 2016. TRP 2.0 is a comprehensive motor sports driver training and selection program. The program has received 1000 applications from all over the country, of which Season 4 will present 10 new shortlisted Indian truck drivers with an opportunity to race at country's globally renowned F1 racetrack.

Besides inducting new Indian drivers to the sport, Season 4 will also feature Indian drivers who took part in 2016. The championship will continue to host experienced international drivers representing six teams. 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Motorsports News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 Feb 2017, 09:14:00 PM