News Nation Logo


Australia Women's Cricket Register 17th Consecutive ODI Win, Equals World Record

The Australia Women's Cricket Team Equalled Their Own World Record Of Most Consecutive Wins In ODIs After Beating Sri Lanka By 110 Runs And Registering Their 17th Win.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 07 Oct 2019, 03:37:17 PM
Australia Women's Cricket Team registered their 17th straight win by beating Sri Lanka and taking a 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

New Delhi:

The Australia women's cricket team continued to create more records after their victory against Sri Lanka in the second ODI at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane. The 110-run victory not only gave them an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series but this was their 17th consecutive win in ODIs, equalling their own record which they set in the 1997/98 season. Victory was never in doubt once Meg Lanning scored a brilliant ton and Jess Jonassen took four wickets to set up a brilliant win.

Australia once again chose to bat and they were given a blazing start by Alyssa Healy and Haynes. Healy scored at a strike rate in excess of 100 and her knock included 10 fours and a six. The 116-run stand was broken when Shashikala Siriwardene got rid of Healy for 69 off 62 balls. Haynes then shared a 103-run stand with skipper Meg Lanning as Australia eyed a big score. Haynes notched up her century but Australia lost their way in the last few overs as they lost six wickets for 47 runs. Achini Kulasuriya took three wickets while Sugandika Kumari took two wickets as Australia ended on 282/8 in 50 overs. 

Also Read16 And Counting - Australia Women's Cricket Team Come Closer To Breaking Own ODI World Record

Despite losing Chamari Athapaththu cheaply, Anushka Sanjeewani the wicketkeeper and Harshitha Madavi stitched a solid 70-run partnership and gave Sri Lanka some hope. However, Nicola Carey broke the partnership and Sri Lanka's innings tumbled into freefall. They lost seven wickets for 57 runs with Jonassen taking 4/31 while legspinner Georgia Wareham taking two wickets for 29 runs. Heather Graham and Tayla Vlaeminck got a wicket each and Sri Lanka could only manage 172/9 to lose by another significant margin.

Also Read THIS Australian woman cricketer smashes a new world record in Twenty20 Internationals

The current streak of the Australian women's team stretches back to the Indian series in 2017 when they won the series 3-0. They continued to whitewash opponents, defeating Pakistan, New Zealand and also whitewashing England in the Women's Ashes. After beating West Indies 3-0, they have continued their winning run against Sri Lanka.

Australia and India are the only teams to have won 16 consecutive women's ODIs in history. Australia first won 16 consecutive games on the trot during the 1999/00 season. After winning against New Zealand in Wellington, Australia won four consecutive games against England Women before winning four more against New Zealand. With wins over Sri Lanka, Ireland, India, England, South Africa and Netherlands at Christchurch and Lincoln respectively, Australia won 16 games.

India women's streak began in 2016 with a win against Australia in Hobart. They swept aside Sri Lanka and West Indies 3-0 before registering wins against Sri Lanka, Ireland, South Africa (twice), Bangladesh, Ireland and Pakistan in the ICC Championships. They rounded off the streak with three wins against South Africa and Ireland in the tri-series in Potchefstroom.

However, the world record belongs to Australia women who won 17 consecutive ODIs from 1997 to 1998. They started off their streak with victory against South Africa, Pakistan, Denmark, England, Netherlands, India and New Zealand. Following the dominant performance, Australia whitewashed England 5-0 and Ireland 3-0 before beating South Africa twice. 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Oct 2019, 03:37:17 PM