News Nation Logo


BCCI recommends Poonam Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bumrah, Jadeja for Arjuna Award

Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) Has Recommended Poonam Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah And Ravindra Jadeja For Arjuna Award

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 27 Apr 2019, 02:51:23 PM
The board has nominated one female and three male cricketers for the Arjuna Award 2019

New Delhi:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recommended four cricketers for Arjuna Award 2019. Poonam Yadav,  Indian team pacers Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, spinner Ravindra Jadeja have been recommended by the board. Earlier, a senior BCCI official had said that the nomination for Arjuna Awards will be decided on the basis of seniority. "We will decide on the nominees on the basis of their seniority. There will be both men and women cricketers who will be in the list that Karim presents." 

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in sports. The cash reward of Arjuna Award carries INR 5,00,000.

Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav is the only female cricketer in the list recommended by BCCI. Yadav has played 41 ODIs and 54 T20Is for India, taking 63 and 74 wickets. Jadeja has been the key figure in the Indian test lineup and he has played 41 Test matches for the team taking 192 wickets.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Apr 2019, 01:51:31 PM