News Nation Logo

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: India-Australia Test series to begin in Feb, Pune to host first match

Pune, Ranchi And Dharamsala Will Be Hosting Test Matches For The First Time During The Four-match Series Against Australia, Which Is A Part Of India's Busy Home Schedule This Season.

PTI | Updated on: 21 Oct 2016, 01:44:43 PM
India's home Test series against Australia will start on February 23 in Pune. Image source: Getty Images

New Delhi:

Team India's home Test series against Australia will start on February 23 in Pune, just a day after the visiting country's Twenty20 side winds up a home assignment against Sri Lanka. 

Pune, Ranchi and Dharamsala will be hosting Test matches for the first time during the four-match series, which is a part of India's busy home schedule this season. 

The teams will open their campaign in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with the first Test in Pune from February 23 to 27. The series will then move to Bengaluru, which will host the second game from March 4-8. 

The last two matches will be played in the two new Test centres -- Ranchi and Dharamsala -- from March 16-20 and March 25-29 respectively. 

The Australians have been known to have different outfits for different formats and tend to preserve Test players ahead of major series. A recent example of this was when the Aussies rested their key players during a three-match Twenty20 series at home against India in January. 

Australia's three-match Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka is scheduled from February 17 to 22. 

Australia were whitewashed 4-0 by India in their last tour of the country. The three centres which had hosted One-day Internationals and T20 Internationals in the past - were accorded Test status last November. 

All these three centres, incidentally, are the home turfs of BCCI president Anurag Thakur, secretary Ajay Shirke and joint-secretary Amitabh Choudhary respectively. 

The allocation of matches to new centres is aimed at restoring the rotation policy for Tests. India are scheduled to play 13 Tests, 8 ODIs and three T20Is in the current home season.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Oct 2016, 01:28:00 PM