News Nation Logo


Dharamsala: India beat Aus by 8 wickets to win Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-1, Jadeja bags Man of the Match, Man of the Series

Host India Defeated Australia By Eight Wickets In Dharamsala Test To Clinch The Border-Gavaskar Series.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 28 Mar 2017, 03:24:45 PM

New Delhi:

Host India defeated Australia by eight wickets in Dharamsala Test to clinch the Border-Gavaskar series.

India who came into the Test series with an unbeaten 19 match streak at home were given a tough fight by the Aussies who stunned them by winning the series opener at Pune. India made a sensational comeback by winning the Bangalore Test before forging a close fought draw against the Kangaroos at Ranchi. It came down to the wire in Dharamsala where the Indians led by Ajinkya Rahane stepped up their game in the absence of their regular Test captain Virat Kohli and combined well as a unit to win the Test match.

Also Read | Ind vs Aus, Dharamsala Test, Day 4: Hosts seal emphatic 8 wicket victory, claim series 2-1

India's series win against the Aussies cements their position at the very top of the ICC Test rankings and they shall finish as the number-one Test team at the end of the season.Ravindra Jadeja was awarded the Man of the Match and the allrounder also bagged the Player of the series award.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: India vs Australia, Dharamsala Test

Match Report

The Australians put up a competitive 300 total in their first innings on Day 1 courtesy a century by their skipper Steve Smith and useful contributions from opener David Warner and wicketkeeper Matthew Wade. The Aussies looked good for much more but debutant Kuldeep Yadav's four wickets restricted the Aussies from setting up a formidable total.

In reply, India looked in a very comfortable position at one stage with half-centuries from KL Rahul and Cheteshwar Pujara before seamer Pat Cummins wrecked the Indian middle order with a sensational spell. India's recovery was led by captain Ajinkya Rahane who held ground when Aussies off-spinner Nathan Lyon dented the Indian middle order. Ravindra Jadeja and Wriddhiman Saha forged together a valiant 96-run partnership to help India gain a slender but crucial 32 run lead.

Indian seamers Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar then bowled a magical spell to get rid of the dangerous Aussies openers and their in-form captain Steve Smith.Ravindra Jadeja then cast his web by picking up wickets in quick succession to leave the Australians reeling. Glen Maxwell and Matthew Wade provided some resistance before R Ashwin got into the act and send them packing. Indian were clearly in the drivers seat after being set a below-par target of 106 runs.

Openers KL Rahul and Murali Vijay were equal to the task by helping the hosts get off a breezy start.There seemed to be a twist in the tail towards the end as India lost their dependable opener Murali Vijay for 8 followed by avoidable Pujara runout.However KL Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane prevented any further slip up as they steered the hosts across the line for a memorable series win.

Full Coverage | India vs Australia: Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Mar 2017, 10:36:00 AM

Related Tags:

India Australia