News Nation Logo


Carlos Brathwaite to lead West Indies in T20 series against India

Carlos Brathwaite, Who Was The Star Of The West Indies World Twenty20 Victory, Has Been Appointed The New Skipper Of The National T20 Squad, Which Will Be Playing Two T20 Internationals Against India Later This Month In Florida.

PTI | Updated on: 10 Aug 2016, 01:41:56 AM
Carlos Brathwaite (File Photo)

St. John’s (Antigua and Barbuda):

Carlos Brathwaite, who was the star of the West Indies World Twenty20 victory, has been appointed the new skipper of the national T20 squad, which will be playing two T20 Internationals against India later this month in Florida.

After the conclusion of the ongoing four-Test series, West Indies and India will clash in two-match T20 series at Fort Lauderdale in Florida on August 27 and 28.

Brathwaite, who has succeeded the sacked Darren Sammy as captain, came to limelight after he smashed four sixes in the final over against England to win World T20 final in Mumbai earlier this year.

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” said West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne.

“We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches,” he said.

Sammy was sacked on Friday after a six-year spell as West Indies skipper.

West Indies T20 squad: Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Aug 2016, 01:39:00 AM