News Nation Logo


India Vs West Indies 1st T20: India win by 5 wickets, Krunal Pandya makes mark in debut match

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 05 Nov 2018, 12:20:34 AM
India Vs West Indies 1st T20 Live: Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey steady Indian ship

New Delhi:

Team India led by Rohit Sharma will take on Carlos Brathwaite-led West Indies in the first T20 International in Kolkata on Sunday.  

All-rounder Krunal Pandya in all likelihood will make his senior India debut after being named in the final 12 for the first T20 International. Krunal, elder brother of star all-rounder Hardik Pandya, was part of the squad for the three T20I series in England this summer but didn't get a game. 

Star West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell was on Saturday ruled out of the three-match T20 series, dealing a big blow to the visitors on the eve of the opening game.  West Indies chief selector Courtney Browne confirmed Russell's unavailability for the India series but did not give the details of his injury.  

Check full scorecard

India vs West Indies first T20I | Highlights:

K Paul to K Pandya, two runs, good length outside off stump. It's all over! India won by 5 wickets

17.4 Overs: K Paul to K Pandya (19), 4 runs, 108/5

K Pierre to K Pandya, FOUR, 92.8 km/h short length outside off stump.

14.6 Overs: WICKET! M Pandey (19) is out, c & b Khary Pierre, 83/5

11.6 Overs: K Pollard to D Karthik (21), 4 runs, 69/4

11.5 Overs: K Pollard to D Karthik (17), 4 runs, 65/4

11.1 Overs: K Pollard to D Karthik (13), 4 runs, 61/4

7.3 Overs: Wicket! Poor shot by KL Rahul, departs for 16 runs. Carlos Brathwaite takes his wicket.  

C Brathwaite to R Pant, WICKET!!! R Pant is out c Darren Bravo b Carlos Brathwaite, 132.6 km/h good length just outside off stump.

WICKET! S Dhawan (3) is out, b Oshane Thomas, 16/2

2.3 Overs: O Thomas to S Dhawan (3), 4 runs, 16/1

0.6 Over: WICKET! RG Sharma (6) is out, c Denesh Ramdin b Oshane Thomas, 7/1

Windies end with 109/8 from their 20 overs. India need 110 to go 1-0 in this three-match T20I series.

WICKET! F Allen (27) is out, c Umesh Yadav b Khaleel Ahmed, 87/8. Khaleel takes his maiden wicket 

14.5 over: WICKET! C Brathwaite (4) is out, lbw Kuldeep Yadav, 63/7. Kuldeep is on fire. 

WICKET! Oh dear! One more wickets fall. West Indies are in deep, deep trouble right now. Six batsmen are back in pavilion. 

R Powell (4) is out, c Dinesh Karthik b Kuldeep Yadav, 56/6  

10.1 Overs: WICKET! DM Bravo (5) is out, c Shikhar Dhawan b Kuldeep Yadav, 49/5

WICKET! K Pollard (14) is out, c Manish Pandey b Krunal Pandya, 47/4


Wicket! Bumrah to Hetmyer, Dinesh Karthik takes an easy catch.  

WICKET! S Hope (14) is out, run out (Lokesh Rahul), 22/2

2.3 Overs: U Yadav to S Hetmyer (4), 4 runs, 20/1

WICKET! D Ramdin (2) is out, c Dinesh Karthik b Umesh Yadav, 16/1

0.5 Over: U Yadav to S Hope (8), 4 runs, 8/0

0.2 Over: U Yadav to S Hope (4), 4 runs, 4/0

India XI: Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant (W), Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav

WI XI: R Powell, DM Bravo, S Hope, S Hetmyer, D Ramdin, K Pollard, C Brathwaite, K Paul, F Allen, K Pierre, O Thomas

1st T20I: Rohit Sharma wins the toss and elects to field first. 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Nov 2018, 06:33:16 PM