News Nation Logo


DDCA to name stands at Feroz Shah Kotla after Bishen Singh Bedi, Mohinder Amarnath

After Naming A Gate After One Of India's Greatest Cricketers Virender Sehwag, Delhi District Cricket Association Continued With Their Tradition Of Honouring Stalwarts As They Intent To Name Stands Of The Ferozshah Kotla After Legendary Bishen Singh Bedi And Mohinder Amarnath.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 21 Nov 2017, 08:54:47 AM
Feroz Shah Kotla - File Photo

New Delhi:

After naming a gate after one of India's greatest cricketers Virender Sehwag, Delhi District Cricket Association continued with their tradition of honouring stalwarts  as they intent to name stands of the Feroz Shah Kotla after legendary Bishen Singh Bedi and Mohinder Amarnath.

The move is DDCA's way of acknowledging the contribution of Bedi and Amarnath in Indian cricket as well as state cricket. There will also be a Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi 'Hall of Fame' at the iconic ground.

In a statement, DDCA administrator Justice Vikramjit Sen confirmed that Bedi and Amarnath will be honoured at the first ever DDCA Annual Conclave on November 29.

Bedi, a longtime critic of the controversy ridden DDCA, will also be the keynote speaker at the Conclave. Earlier this month, a gate of the Kotla was named after former India opener Sehwag and now it has been decided that another gate will be named after former women's team skipper Anjum Chopra.

In mutual agreement with DDCA Honours' Committee and Sen, a benchmark of 35 Tests has been set for a Delhi cricketer to be honoured by the state association.

"Accordingly, the likes of Chetan Chauhan, Madan Lal, Maninder Singh, Manoj Prabhakar and others in the list should also be accorded this honour as per the criteria, in due course," said Sen.

The dressing room of the home team will now be known as the Raman Lamba Dressing Room, in memory of the late cricketer, while the  visiting team dressing room will be named after Prakash Bhandari, the first Test cricketer from Delhi.

"Active cricketers like Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan should be honoured after they have retired from the game," read the statement further. The DDCA will also honour noted coaches Gurcharan Singh and Tarak Sinha. 

With inputs from PTI

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Nov 2017, 08:54:25 AM