News Nation Logo

Deodhar Trophy: Another fifty by Chand helps India B reach finals

Skipper Unmukt Chand Scored A Consecutive Half-century To Steer India B To A Seven-run Win Over Gujarat And Make The Finals Of The Deodhar Trophy One-day Cricket Tournament.

PTI | Updated on: 26 Jan 2016, 06:55:56 PM


Skipper Unmukt Chand scored a consecutive half-century to steer India B to a seven-run win over Gujarat and make the finals of the Deodhar Trophy one-day cricket tournament.

Put into bat, India B scored 280 for eight with Chand (63), Suryakumar Yadav (47) and Stuart Binny (41) chipping in with crucial runs.

In reply, Gujarat fell short by seven runs, getting bundled out for 273 in 49.3 overs, despite Chirag Gandhi coming up with a brilliant unbeaten century.

Earlier, India B lost opener Mayank Agarwal (0) and Shreyas Iyer (17) early, but the other opener in Chand continued with his fine form to score a 70-ball 63, which included eight hits to the fence, to provide a solid platform for the team.

Later Yadav and Binny put on an 81-run stand for the sixth wicket to enable India B post a competitive total. For Gujarat, Mehul Patel was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 69.

Chasing 281 for victory, Gujarat lost their top order cheaply to be reeling at 47 for three, before skipper Manpreet Juneja (50) and Rujul Bhatt (45) steadied the boat.

The duo shared a 78-run partnership for the fourth wicket but both the batsmen fell in quick succession with Gujarat scorecard reading 148 for five.

But Gandhi came to the team’s rescue and single-handedly almost bailed the team out of trouble, even as wickets kept falling at the other end.

Ultimately, Gandhi’s efforts went in vain as he was left stranded at 100 off just 77 balls, that he scored with the help of 12 boundaries and three sixes.

Dhawal Kulkarni (2/21), Karn Sharma (2/56) and Binny (2/60) took two wickets each for India B.

Gujarat will take on India A tomorrow.

Brief scores:

India B: 280/8 in 50 overs (Unmukt Chand 63, Suryakumar Yadav 47, Stuart Binny 41; Mehul Patel 3/69).

Gujarat: 273 all out in 49.3 overs (Chirag Gandhi 100 not out, Manpreet Juneja 50; Dhawal Kulkarni 2/21). 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jan 2016, 06:53:00 PM