News Nation Logo

India B wins Deodhar Trophy after defeating Karnataka by six wickets in the finals

India B Lifted The Deodhar Trophy After Some Magnificent Batting As They Defeated Karnataka By Six Wickets On Thursday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 09 Mar 2018, 02:12:29 PM
India B defeats Karnataka (Image Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

India B lifted the Deodhar Trophy after some magnificent batting as they defeated Karnataka by six wickets on Thursday.

Ravikumar Samarth (107 runs in 120 balls) once more proved to be a solid foundation for Karnataka as his effort took his side to a respectable 279 for 8 despite being at 64 for 4 after losing quick initial wickets.

The reply from India B was superb as they crossed the victory line in 48.2 overs with four of the batsmen scoring half tons.

The opening pair of Ruturaj Gaikwad (58) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (69) displayed some flawless batting by combining for a 84 run stand.

ALSO READ: Nidahas Tri Series 2018: Dhawan continues to impress as India beats Bangladesh by 6 wickets

The final blow was given to Karnataka by Captain Shreyas Iyer (61) and Manoj Tiwari (59) and with their 83 run partnership, which came in just 14.1 overs.

It was Samarth, who scored his second hundred while blasting eight fours and a six and tied a partnership of 132 runs with CM Gautham (76). Gautham played a spending innings with  six fours and two sixes.

The two build a steady partnership when Karnataka were left scratching the pitch at 64 for 4 by Umesh Yadav (2/48) and Khaleel Ahmed (3/49).

They attacked the new entrant in BCCI’s yearly contract, Jayant Yadav (1/71 in 10 overs) mercilessly.

The off-spinner, who was a surprise inclusion in the central contracts looked out of his comfort zone and struggled throughout the game.

India B paced their chase remarkably as Easwaran played the role of steady boat at one end while Gaikwad was like a speed boat, taking ultimate advantage of the Powerplay overs.

Veteran batsman Manoj Tiwary, who has shown great form, hit eight boundaries and Stuart Binny was taken to task along with Prasidh Krishna as B team coasted home easily.

Brief Scorecard: Karnataka 279/8 (Ravikumar Samarth 107 off 120 balls, CM Gautham 76 off 84, Khaleel Ahmed 3/49, Umesh Yadav 2/48)

India B 281/4 in 48.2 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 69 off 82 balls, Ruturaj Gaikwad 58 off 47 balls, Manoj Tiwary 58 no off 51 balls, Shreyas Iyer 61 off 69 balls). India B won by six wickets.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Mar 2018, 10:57:37 AM