News Nation Logo

Dinesh Karthik to lead KKR in IPL 2018, Uthappa appointed Vice Captain

KKR CEO Venky Mysore Announced Dinesh Karthik As The New Skipper Of KKR For IPL 2018 After Lots Of Speculation Regarding The Captaincy Of IPL Franchise Kolkata Knight Riders.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 04 Mar 2018, 11:33:41 AM
Dinesh Karthik to lead KKR (Image Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

KKR CEO Venky Mysore announced Dinesh Karthik as the new skipper of KKR for IPL 2018 after lots of speculation regarding the captaincy of IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders.

Mysore announced the captain of KKR on Sunday stating that the main reason for appointing Karthik was because they were looking for a long-term change, and someone who could take Gautam Gambhir's place as a captain. 

Mysore said, "The principal we operated on was that we were looking for a long-term change. We were looking at someone who could continue to lead the side like Gautam."

Players like Chris Lynn and Robin Uthappa were counted as the prime contenders for the job. The latter was appointed the Vice-captain of the Kolkata franchise. .

ALSO READ: Shakib Al Hasan ruled out of Nidahas Tri Series due to injury

Dinesh was steered away from rival teams for a humongous Rs 7.4 Cr by KKR in the IPL auctions which were held in January. After being appointed as the skipper, the former Gujrat Lions player said, "KKR has done well consistently in the last ten years. The team has a great legacy. I am really happy and honoured to lead this side."

The former Tamil Nadu skipper added, "We have a good blend of youth and experience. We are looking forward to work under Coach Jacques Kallis. All the foreign players are really good too. I will try to take the team forward from where Gautam Gambhir left."

Two time IPL champions Knight Riders possess an extremely strong bowling line-up that will be spearheaded by star Australian pacer Mitchell Starc. Also in their ranks they have Under 19 World Cup winner Kamlesh Nagarkoti, who had a stellar tournament. Only concern for the Kolkata franchise is their inexperience batting line up.

KKR Squad: Dinesh Karthik (C), Robin Uthappa (VC), Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Singh Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Nitish Rana, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javon Searless, Apoorv Vijay Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Mar 2018, 11:19:05 AM