News Nation Logo

ICC Champions Trophy | Roll of Honour, List of Winners and Finalists

The 2017 Champions Trophy Shall Be Held In England And Wales From 1st And 18th June. The Tournament Is The Eight Edition Of The Multi-nation Tournament, Since Its Inception Way Back In 1998.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 26 May 2017, 04:59:31 PM
ICC Champions Trophy - File photo

New Delhi:

The 2017 Champions Trophy shall be held in England and Wales from 1st and 18th June. The tournament is the eight edition of the multi-nation tournament, since its inception way back in 1998. The opening fixture of the tournament shall be played between hosts England and Bangladesh on 1st June. Meanwhile defending champs India shall be opening their campaign in the tournament against arch rivals Pakistan on 4th June at Edgbaston. 

The tournament shall be played between the top eight One Day International teams of international cricket. The eight participating nations have been divided into two groups of four each. Group A comprises of Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh. India have been placed with arch-rivals Pakistan, Asian neighbours Sri Lanka and South Africa in Group B.

West Indies and Zimbabwe are the two Test playing nations who did not qualify for the tournament on account of missing the cut-off criteria. Meanwhile Bangladesh shall be making a return to the tournament after 2006. India are the defending champions in the tournament, winning the 2013 edition held in England.


ICC Champions Trophy - Roll of Honour
ICC Champions Trophy - Roll of Honour

India and Australia are the only sides to have won the tournament twice. Meanwhile West Indies, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and South Africa have annexed the trophy once. India and Sri Lanka are the only teams to have shared the trophy.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 May 2017, 03:26:00 PM

Related Tags:

ICC Champions Trophy