News Nation Logo

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Bangladesh pick new-comer Abu Jayed in squad

Bangladesh Have Included Abu Jayed, Who Has Not Played A Single ODI, In The 15-man Squad For The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Which Will Be Held In England.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 16 Apr 2019, 01:39:09 PM
Bangladesh have included new-comer Abu Jayed in the 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. (Image credit: Twitter)


  • Bangladesh entered the quarterfinal of the 2015 World Cup in Australia-New Zealand.
  • Bangladesh will begin their 2019 World Cup campaign against South Africa.
  • Mashrafe Mortaza could potentially play his last World Cup for Bangladesh.

New Delhi:

Abu Jayed, who has played five Tests and three Twenty20 Internationals for Bangladesh, has been picked in the ODI squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 which will be held in England on May 30. Along with Jayed, Mosaddek Hossain, who last played in the Asia Cup in September 2018 is also back in the side which will be led by Mashrafe Mortaza. Shakib Al Hasan will be the vice-captain of the team and Bangladesh’s star all-rounder, playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, has been called back from the 2019 Indian Premier League to attend a preparatory camp for the World Cup.

Jayed has been in good form in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League. Playing for Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Jayed has taken 12 wickets in nine games at an average of 33.33 at an economy rate of 5.59. In addition to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the squad for the Ireland tri-series has also been announced with the addition of two players in Yasir Ali and Nayeem Hasan.

The squad will be led by Mortaza and it is expected that Bangladesh’s most experienced captain might play in his last tournament before announcing his retirement in order to focus on his career in politics. Shakib will be the key as Bangladesh look to repeat their good performance from the 2015 World Cup. In the tournament that was held in Australia and New Zealand, Bangladesh defeated England in Adelaide and it helped them reach the quarterfinal for the first time in the history of the tournament.

Before the World Cup, Bangladesh will be part of a tri-series that will feature Ireland and the West Indies and it will be played in Dublin. Mortaza’s side will begin the tournament by playing the West Indies on May 9 in Dublin. Bangladesh will begin their World Cup campaign on June 3 against South Africa at The Oval and they will be determined to start their campaign on a positive note.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 squad

Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Jayed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Apr 2019, 01:38:29 PM