News Nation Logo

ICC World T20 final: India won inaugural tournament against Pakistan by 5 runs

On This Day On 24 September, 2007, India Had Won The Inaugural ICC World T20 Tournament By Beating Arch-rivals Pakistan By 5 Runs. Joginder Sharma Bowled The Final Over And Got The Prized Wicket Of Misbah To Hand India The Trophy.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 24 Sep 2017, 12:28:52 PM
World T20 final: India won inaugural tournament against Pak by 5 runs

New Delhi:

India won the inaugural World T20 on Sepetember 24, 2007 as the MS Dhoni led side beat arch-rivals Pakistan by five runs in the Johannesburg final.

A packed Wanderers had come to life as Joginder Sharma bowled a brilliant final over and had Misbah caught at fine leg to help India lift the coveted trophy.

Gautam Gambhir was the star with the bat for India, hitting 75 off 54 balls to get the total to 157 for 5.

Further, Rohit Sharma's unbeaten 16-ball 30 proved a crucial cameo in the match.As far as the bowling was concerned, RP Singh and Irfan Pathan claimed five wickets between them to torment their arch-rivals.

Although Pakistan began in a spirited manner and Misbah hit Harbhajan Singh for three sixes in the 17th over, Joginder turned the tide in India's favour.

It was one of the biggest victories of MS Dhoni's career which wrote a new chapter in the history of Indian cricket. Further, it also established him as one of the greatest skippers to lead India apart from earning him the sobriquet of 'Captain cool'.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Sep 2017, 12:28:32 PM