News Nation Logo


'Explosive' Virat Kohli guides India to 6-wicket win over New Zealand in 1st ODI

Virat Kohli Held Centrestage With An Unbeaten 85 After A Collective Bowling Effort As India Cruised To An Easy Six-wicket Victory Over New Zealand Taking A 1-0 Lead In The Five-match ODI Series.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 17 Oct 2016, 08:26:36 AM
Virat Kohli (Image Source: Getty)

New Delhi:

Virat Kohli held centrestage with an unbeaten 85 after a collective bowling effort as India cruised to an easy six-wicket victory over New Zealand taking a 1-0 lead in the five-match ODI series.

India celebrate their 900th ODI with a big win - their 455th in ODIs. The match was all but won in the first 20 overs - when the new-look bowling attack reduced the visitors to 65/7. Tom Latham was the lone ranger for them and he remained unbeaten on 79 - having carried his bat. 

The series now moves across to Delhi for the second match, on October 20. (With PTI Inputs)

India vs New Zealand ODI Series: Live Cricket Score


#Virat Kohli hits 85 as India wins the first ODI against NZ by 6 wickets - India 194/4

#Pressure builds for India as MS Dhoni goes for 21

#Virat Kohli hits a gritty half century and rebuilds the Indian innings with skipper Dhoni. India 150/3.

#Skipper M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli look to rebuild the Indian innings as Manish Pandey was snared by Ish Sodhi

#Virat Kohli and Manish Pandey carry on the good work of opener Ajinkya Rahane as India crosses the 100 run barrier

#Indian openers fall after providing a solid start to the innings - India 76/2

#Rohit Sharma falls for 14 as India lose their first wicket

#Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane give a solid start to Indian innings 

#Ish Sodhi, the last New Zealand batsman falls for 1 as the Kiwis innings folds for 190

#Ninth wicketof NZ innings falls as Tim Southee is snared by Amit Mishra for a brilliant 55. NZ - 190/9

#Eighth wicket of the New Zealand innings falls as Doug Bracewell's becomes Amit Mishra's first wicket. NZ - 111/8

#Tom Latham hits a brilliant half century to take New Zealand past the 100 run mark.

#Kedhar Jadhav showcased his skills with the ball by picking up two quick wickets

#Pandya makes a defining statement on debut

#Kiwi batsman falling like a pack of cards

#Pandya rips apart Kiwis, scalps Anderson

#Indian pacers dent the Kiwi top order, Yadav strikes double blow by scalping Williamson and Taylor

#Pandya strikes opening blow, gets opener Guptill

#Kiwis opened with Guptill and Latham

#Mandeep Singh, Jayant Yadav and Dhawal Kulkarni shall sit out

#Hardik Pandya to make his debut

#India win the toss, elect to bat

After their superlative performance against the Kiwis in the test series, India are set to kick start their ODI series campaign by playing New Zealand in series opener at Dharamsala on Sunday afternoon.

India shall be taking on New Zealand in the series opener at the picturesque HPCA stadium in Dharamsala in sometime from now.  

The match is scheduled to begin at 1:30 pm. Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful Dhauladhar range, the stadium is considered one of the most scenic cricket around the world.

The Kiwis would relish playing the Indians at Dharamsala as the cool and breezy conditions are similar to what they have back home. 

The Indians are pretty evenly matches with the Kiwis when it comes to the overall head to head record between the two sides in ODI cricket. But when it comes to their encounters on Indian soil, the Indians have completely overpowered the Kiwis and boast of an impressive record against them.

The Indians squad has been subject to quite a few changes with the selectors giving youngsters a chance to prove their mantle. 

The Kiwis are placed at number three on the ICC rankings and are coming into the series with three successive series wins at home. The Black Caps have been a top one day side ever since reaching the finals of the 2015 World Cup.

India (probable): 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Amit Mishra, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Dhawal Kulkarni

New Zealand (probable): 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Corey Anderson, 6 Luke Ronchi, 7 James Neesham, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Ish Sodhi/Matt Henry

The Kiwis are placed at number three on the ICC rankings and are coming into the series with three successive series wins at home. The Black Caps have been a top one day side ever since reaching the finals of the 2015 World Cup.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 16 Oct 2016, 12:47:00 PM