News Nation Logo

India-South Africa Test rubber named 'Freedom Series'

A Specially Designed Freedom Series Trophy Podium Will Also Commemorate The Landmark Series And Will Be Unveiled In A Special Ceremony Ahead Of The First Test, Commencing In Cape Town On January 5, 2018.

PTI | Updated on: 22 Dec 2017, 11:42:59 PM
India-South Africa Test rubber named 'Freedom Series' (File Photo)


The upcoming three-Test series between India and hosts South Africa has been named as "Freedom Series."

"This tour was originally labelled the Friendship Series, it was South Africa's way of reciprocating India's efforts in ending the country's sporting isolation in 1991. India had been among the principal opponents of apartheid. The Freedom Series was felt by both nations to be a be more fitting name in recognition of South Africa's and India's shared history of winning freedom through non-violence, not to mention their shared love of cricket!" said a media release issued by Cricket South Africa.

Also Read: Mohammad Azharuddin says Indian team’s real test will be in South Africa

A specially designed Freedom Series Trophy Podium will also commemorate the landmark series and will be unveiled in a special ceremony ahead of the first Test, commencing in Cape Town on January 5, 2018.

The last two Tests are scheduled to be played at Centurion (from January 13) and Johannesburg (from January 24).

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 Dec 2017, 11:32:21 PM

Related Tags:

India South Africa