News Nation Logo

India lock horns against Proteas in Port Elizabeth ODI with eye on maiden series win on African soil

India Would Be Hoping To Win The Encounter And Clinch Its Maiden ODI Series On African Soil. The 'Men In Blue' Had A Great Opportunity To Go 4-0 Up At Johannesburg But The Hosts Staged A Tremendous Comeback In A Rain-curtailed Match At The Wanderers.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 13 Feb 2018, 01:27:25 PM
Indian skipper Virat Kohli - File Photo

New Delhi:

India shall be taking on South Africa in the fifth One Day Internationals at St. George's Park, Port Elizabeth on Tuesday. The match is scheduled to start at 4:30 pm (IST).

India would be hoping to win the encounter and clinch their maiden ODI series on African soil. The 'Men in Blue' had a great opportunity to go 4-0 up at Johannesburg but the hosts staged a tremendous comeback in a rain-curtailed match at the Wanderers. The win for the Proteas has kept the series alive and it is all to play for in the final two games.

The South Africans effectively deployed a plan to combat the Indian spin duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav in the last ODI. The Proteas batting lineup has been bolstered by the presence of AB De Villiers who played a valuable cameo in the last match. South Africa would be pleased with the performance of hard-hitting middle-order batsman David Miller and debutant Klaseen as they both took the team across the line chasing a stiff target in 28 overs.

The Indian batting efforts have been led by skipper Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan, both the Delhi lads have struck a purple patch with the willow all through the series. However, India would look for a better performance from their star opener Rohit Sharma who has struggled with the willow on the pacy South African tracks.


Probable XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer/Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Probable XI: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (c), JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Lungi Ngidi/Imran Tahir


For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 13 Feb 2018, 01:26:14 PM

Related Tags:

Ind Vs SA Virat Kohli