News Nation Logo


India vs Australia Test series: Selectors retain Kohli's winning team for first two match; Injury-hit Shami misses out

The First Test In The Series For The Border-Gavaskar Trophy Commences At Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium On February 23.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Manas Dwivedi | Updated on: 21 Feb 2017, 04:42:43 PM
The Indian national cricket team (source: PTI)

Mumbai :

The Indian selectors headed by Chief Selector MSK Prasad have named an unchanged 16-man squad for the first two Tests of the upcoming series against Australia. Batsman Rohit Sharma, fast bowler Mohammed Shami and leg spinner Amit Mishra were not yet fit for selection because of injuries.

The first Test in the series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy commences at Pune’s Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium on February 23 to be followed by the next three games at Bengaluru (March 4-8), Ranchi (March 16-20) and Dharamshala (March 25-29).

The Australian squad, led by Steve Smith, arrived in India on Tuesday ahead of the four-match rubber and will play a three-day warm-up game against an India A squad led by Hardik Pandya at the Cricket Club of India’s Brabourne Stadium from February 17-19 before proceeding to Pune.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhinav Mukund, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, M Vijay, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 Feb 2017, 01:28:00 PM