News Nation Logo

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I highlights: Hosts win by 4 runs, clinch three-match series 2-1

New Zealand Held Their Nerve And Clinched A Tense Four-run Win Over India In The Hamilton T20I As They Won The Three-match Series 2-1. Get Highlights Here.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 10 Feb 2019, 04:02:31 PM
Mitchell Santner and the New Zealand bowlers struck at regular intervals as they won the Hamilton match by four runs to win the three-match series 2-1. (Image credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

New Zealand ended their series against India on a positive note as they won the third and final match in Hamilton by four runs to win the three-match series 2-1. With this win, New Zealand have inflicted the most losses in T20Is against India and it has ensured India do not win a series in all formats in the current tours of Australia and New Zealand. Colin Munro's magnificent 72 helped New Zealand reaqch 212/4. India lost wickets at regular intervals but Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya kept Rohit Sharma's side in the hunt but they ended up just short as their pain against New Zealand continued. (SCORECARD)

That is all from us here. Join us for the India vs Australia series that will begin from February 24 with the two T20Is.

Kane Williamson, New Zealand skipper: The first performances was our best, and there were some learnings in the second one. For it to go to the last couple of balls, I knew India would come back strong, and it was a great series to be a part of. 

Rohit Sharma: New Zealand held their nerve well and they deserved to win. We started off well in the ODIs, and the boys will be disappointed not getting to the finishing line in the T20s.

Colin Munro is the Man of the Match: Touch and go there until the final minute. India - you get one good batsman, another one comes along. The boys did a really good job of finishing off the really good Indian batsmen. 

Tim Southee holds his nerve and delivers a splendid last over as India lose by four runs as Kane Williamson's side win by four runs to clinch the three-match series 2-1.

Krunal Pandya and Dinesh Karthik have gotten India right back in the game and their clean hits have meant India need 16 off the last over. Can Tim Southee hold his nerve?

Hardik Pandya misuces a pull shot as Socct Kugglejin takes the wicket. India need 68 off 30 balls.

Rohit falls and this is a massive moment in the game as he edges to Tim Seifert. Mitchell gets the wicket and it is now upto Hardik Pandya and MS Dhoni to do the needful now. India need 72 off 36 balls.

Pant falls to Blair Tickner, who gets his maiden T20I wicket but Hardik Pandya gets going with a six. It is still a see-saw contest.

Rishabh Pant blasts three sixes and a four off Ish Sodhi as India are clawing back into the contest. The required rate is just over 10.

Shankar slams two sixes off Ish Sodhi and nears a fifty with a boundary off de Grandhomme but he falls for 43 as Mitchell Santner gets his second.

Santner concedes just five runs but Shankar smashes a six off Ish Sodhi. The asking rate has gone past 12.

The fifty-run partnership is up between Rohit and Shankar. India are 57/1 after the end of the powerplay. At this stage, New Zealand were 66/0

Vijay Shankar finds the boundary for the third time and it is a nervous start for Blair Tickner on his debut. Nine runs in his debut over.

Vijay Shankar gets going with a couple of boundaries as Rohit Sharma also begins will with a boundary of Tim Southee. India need to maintain a solid run-rate in the powerplay.

Dhawan gets going with a boundary to deep midwicket but he ends up slog sweeping a full ball from Mitchell Santner and holes out to deep midwicket. Big blow.

New Zealand have ended on 212/4 and India will have a massive task on their hands if they have to stay alive in the match and win the series.

Colin de Grandhomme falls for 30 off 16 balls as Bhuvneshwar finally gets some redemption. But, New Zealand are nearinga good total.

Krunal Pandya ends an expensive over and finishes with figures of 4-0-54-0 as de Grandhomme is providing New Zealand a grand finish in the death overs. 

Williamson looks to pull a slow bouncer from Khaleel Ahmed but gets the top edge and the catch is taken at short fine leg. New Zealand have reached 150 in the 15th over.

MS Dhoni effects a lightning stumping to get rid of Tm Seifert but Colin Munro notches up his ninth fifty and Khaleel Ahmed spills the chance. Hardik Pandya is blasted for two sixes for a four but Kuldeep gets the revenge and the left-hander falls for 76.

Seifert and Munro are nearing their fifties as India struggle for the breakthrough. Kuldeep Yadav is into the attack and he represents India's last hope.

Krunal Pandya concedes 20 runs in his first over. Both Seifert and Munro hit sixes while Hardik Pandya also concedes runs. The Devil's number is up in Hamilton as New Zealand race to 66/0 in six overs. Excellent start to the powerplay.

Vijay Shankar nearly pulls off a stunning catch of Seifert but he ends up parrying it over the ropes and the batsman capitalises by smashing Khaleel for a six to fine leg and a four to deep backward square leg. New Zealand are 38/0 at the end of four overs and it is a good start.

Colin Munro gets going with a six off Bhuvneshwar Kumar while Tim Seifert is negotiating the pace and swing off Bhuvi and Khaleel Ahmed well. The right-hander slams a boundary to deep extra cover as New Zealand start well.

Here are the playing XIs of both the sides

New Zealand: Tim Seifert(w), Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed

Kuldeep Yadav has replaced Yuzvendra Chahal in the side while Lockie Ferguson has been rested and Blair Tickner will make his debut. 

Rohit Sharma has chosen to bowl in the final T20I against New Zealand in Hamilton. Blair Tickner will make his debut in Kane Williamson's team.

The action now shifts to the men. Can Rohit Sharma's Indian cricket team end their sojourn Down Under in style or will Kane Williamson's side end on a high? Toss in eight minutes.

Heartbreak for India. Mithali and Deepti Sharma find the boundary but with a boundary needed off the last ball, Mithali could only find a single and the White Ferns have swept the series 3-0.

Mithali hits a boundary off Devine but India need 16 runs off the last over which will be bowled by Leigh Kasperek.

A superb over from Leigh Kasperek and India need 23 off 12 balls. Sophie Devine has been brilliant and she starts with two dot balls. Mithali and Deepti Sharma need to do something special.

Deepti Sharma hits a big six down the ground off Amelia Kerr and India need 28 off 18 balls. Both teams need one good over to tilt the balance.

Hello and a warm welcome to the final game between India and New Zealand in Hamilton. At the moment, the women's T20I game is poised on a knife edge. Smriti Mandhana has fallen for 86 and all hopes rest on Mithali Raj.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Feb 2019, 11:01:25 AM