News Nation Logo

India vs Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka announce squad for upcoming ODI series against India

Sri Lanka Have Announced A 16-member Squad For The ODI Series Set To Take Place Against India. Kusal Perera, Asela Gunaratne And Nuwan Pradeep Returned To The Squad Whereas Test Skipper Dinesh Chandimal Was Overlooked.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 05 Dec 2017, 09:08:03 PM
Sri Lanka cricket team (Pic credit - Sri Lanka Cricket Twitter handle)

New Delhi:

Sri Lanka have announced their squad for the upcoming 3-match ODI series against hosts India. The 16-member squad chosen by the Lankan cricket board includes hard-hitting opener Kusal Perera and all-rounder Asela Gunaratne.

However, in a shocking move, the board has left Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal and Kusal Mendis out of the squad. Speed merchant Nuwan Pradeep made a comeback in the team whereas veteran seamer Lasith Malinga was overlooked.

The spin attack will be spearheaded by Akila Dananjaya which also comprises the likes of Sachith Pathirana and Chaturanga de Silva.The Sri Lankan cricket team is currently involved in a Test series against India.

ALSO READ: India vs Sri Lanka: Ravindra Jadeja's double strike leaves Sri Lanka in troubled waters; India aim for 9th successive Test series win

They have already lost one Test and are on the brink of losing the third Test too.

Full Sri Lanka ODI Squad: Thisara Perera (c), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana and Kusal Perera

READ: Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel selected for South Africa Test series; Thampi, Sundar called up for T20s vs Sri Lanka


For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Dec 2017, 08:48:27 PM