News Nation Logo


India vs West Indies, 2nd T20I, Highlights: India win by 22 runs via DLS method, take 2-0 lead in series

India Vs West Indies, 2nd T20I, Live Cricket Score: Catch All The Match Updates Between IND Vs WI T20 Series Today’s Match Ball By Ball Commentary From Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground At News Nation Sports

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 05 Aug 2019, 12:06:25 AM
India won the match by 22 runs via DLS method against West Indies to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. (Image credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

India have chosen to bat in the second Twenty20 International against West Indies in Florida. Virat Kohli's side are unchanged while for West Indies, John Campbell is out. Rohit Sharma blasted his 17th fifty and he also went past Chris Gayle's world record tally of sixes in Twenty20 Internationals. India lost their way slightly in the death overs as Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Manish Pandey fell in quick succession. Krunal Pandya blasted two sixes and Ravindra Jadeja hit a six in the final over as India ended on 167/5 after the end of 20 overs. In response, West Indies lost the openers cheaply but Rovman Powell kept the West Indies in the hunt with his second fifty. However, Krunal Pandya took two wickets in one over, including Powell for 54 and when the rain came, West Indies were behind the DLS par score and India won the match by 22 runs to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. (LIVE UPDATES IN HINDI) (LIVE SCORECARD)

00:04 hrs IST: It is all over. India win by 22 runs via DLS method and take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

23:38 hrs IST: It has started to rain in Florida. The players were taken off as a precaution due to the lightning strikes near the area and according to US law, there has to be an immediate evacuation from an open area. We are not sure of when play might be called off.

23:10 hrs IST: It has started to rain at Fort Lauderhill and the players are walking off. West Indies are 98/4 after 15.3 overs. The par score should be 120 at this stage.

23:04 hrs IST: Kieron Pollard blasts a four off Ravindra Jadeja and West Indies are 95/4 after 15 overs.

22:59 hrs IST: WICKET! The arm ball and Powell plays down the wrong line to fall for 54. He opts for the review but it is in vain. West Indies are 85/4 after 13.5 overs.

22:55 hrs IST: WICKET! Superb catch by Manish Pandey. Flatter delivery outside off, Pooran fetches the slog and thumps it to long on, Manish Pandey at the boundary catches it near the ropes,throws the ball and jumps over the ropes, he jumps back in and completes a superb catch. West Indies are 84/3 after 13.2 overs.

22:49 hrs IST: Second T20I fifty for Rovman Powell and West Indies remain in the hunt at 78/2 after 12.4 overs.

22:45 hrs IST: Rovman Powell spoils Krunal Pandya's over by hammering a six over deep midwicket. West Indies are 75/2 after 12 overs.

22:42 hrs IST: Khaleel Ahmed concedes just four runs and West Indies are 66/2 after 11 overs, they need 102 off 54 balls. Tall task one fells.

22:37 hrs IST: Krunal Pandya concedes just five runs and West Indies are 62/2 after 10 overs.

22:33 hrs IST: Powell clobbers a six off Washington Sundar and West Indies are 57/2 after nine overs.

22:28 hrs IST: Rovman Powell blasts two fours off Navdeep Saini as West Indies make good progress. Windies are 46/2 after eight overs.

22:23 hrs IST: Rovman Powell blasts a six and a four off Khaleel as West Indies look to rebuild. West Indies are 36/2 after seven overs.

22:19 hrs IST: Rovman Powell slams a four off Navdeep Saini and West Indies are 25/2 after six overs.

22:14 hrs IST: Khaleel Ahmed is into the attack and he gets hit for a four. West Indies are 16/2 after five overs.

22:07 hrs IST: WICKET! Narine gives Sundar the charge and misses the slog. West Indies are 8/2 after three overs.

21:59 hrs IST: WICKET! Bhuvi strikes again and Evin Lewis falls for 0. A slow, knuckle ball on off stump, Lewis is beaten for pace and chips it to the right of Bhuvi who takes a superb catch diving forward. West Indies are 2/1 after 1.1 overs.

21:41 hrs IST: Krunal Pandya blasts two sixes and Ravindra Jadeja also hits a six in the final over as India have ended on 167/5 after 20 overs.

21:31 hrs IST: Only six runs in the 18th over bowled by Keemo Paul. India are 141/4 after 18 overs.

21:22 hrs IST: WICKET! Sheldon Cottrell gets the massive wicket of Virat Kohli as he is bowled for 28. India are 132/4 in the 17th over.

21:18 hrs IST: WICKET! Pant's poor form in T20Is continues. Short and wide ball outside off from Thomas, Pant upper-cuts it to the third man and he falls for 4. India are 126/3 in the 16th over.

21:17 hrs IST: Kohli thumps a boundary off Narine and India are 126/2 after 15 overs.

21:10 hrs IST: WICKET! Oshane Thomas bowls a slower ball and Rohit Sharma miscues the slog to be caught at midwicket. India are 116/2 in 14 overs.

21:04 hrs IST: Rohit clobbers a six and a four off Carlos Brathwaite and India are 111/1 after 13 overs.

20:59 hrs IST: Rohit breaks Chris Gayle's record of most sixes in Twenty20 cricket. He now has 106 sixes and is now the monster in six-hitting in this format. He also notches up his 17th fifty. Virat Kohli also gets going with a six and India are 98/1 after 12 overs.

20:54 hrs IST: Rohit nears a fifty and Kohli has started confidently. India are 77/1 after 10 overs.

20:50 hrs IST: Sunil Narine bowls a tight over and India are 72/1 after nine overs.

20:44 hrs IST: WICKET! Finally, West Indies get the wicket. Full and slow ball angled in from Keemo Paul and Dhawan misses the slog across the line. After 7.5 overs, India are 67/1, Dhawan out for 23.

20:38 hrs IST: Shikhar Dhawan gets a boundary to the third man fence and the partnership continues to grow. India are 61/0 after seven overs.

20:32 hrs IST: Rohit flicks Keemo Paul for a big six and he is now level with Chris Gayle's tally of sixes in this format. Needs one more. He adds insult to injury by sweeping Keemo Paul for a boundary and India are 52/0 after six overs.

20:26 hrs IST: Dhawan creams a boundary to long off as Sunil Narine gets off to a poor start. India are 39/0 after five overs.

20:21 hrs IST: Rohit blasts two more fours off Sheldon Cottrell and India are 34/0 after four overs.

20:16 hrs IST: Rohit gets yet another boundary off Oshane Thomas as he continues to bat with confidence. India are 21/0 after three overs

20:07 hrs IST: Review time in the first over. Oshane Thomas gets this short delivery to lift up outside off and Dhawan looks to fend at it, the ball misses the edge but West Indies opt for the review. No spike on RTS. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma gets going with a boundary and India are 6/0 after the first over.

19:34 hrs IST: India has won the toss and they will bat. Virat Kohli's side are unchanged. Kharry Pierre is in the side in place of John Campbell and Sunil Narine will open the innings.

19:26 hrs IST: This is the same wicket where West Indies managed 95/9. There has been a bit of water sprinkled on the wicket and runs will once again be difficult to come by.

19:18 hrs IST: The West Indies batsmen floundered against the pace of Navdeep Saini. India might want to try out some more expriments, possibly getting in the Chahar brothers.

19:02 hrs IST: Hello, we are back again. This is the final game of the Lauderhill double-header. India will be hoping to win the series while the West Indies would be determined to put in a better performance compared to the one on Saturday.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Aug 2019, 12:06:25 AM