News Nation Logo

IPL Roll of Honour: Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders rule the roost with two titles each

Since The Inception Of The IPL, CSK Has Made It To The Title Clash 6 Times Out Of The 9 Editions Played So Far.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 04 Apr 2017, 11:34:41 AM
Chennai Super Kings IPL Champions 2010- File Photo

New Delhi:

With every season passing by in the Indian Premier League, teams battle hard against each other with an underlying ambition to win the coveted T20 title and be hailed as the champions of the Indian Premier League. The dynamic nature and fast-paced format of T20 cricket makes it very difficult for any team to win on a consistent basis hence to expect an extended dominance by any team at the very top is something too much to ask for. 

However taking a closer look into the IPL history, one team which has consistently been a title contender owing to their ability to churn out match winning performances has been Chennai Super Kings. Since the inception of the tournament, CSK has made it to the title clash 6 times out of the 9 editions played so far. Out of the record six finals they have played, the 'Yellow Brigade' lifted the title twice (2010,2011) and ended up as the finalist on four other occasions (2008,2012,2013,2015).

Indian Premier League - Champions and Finalist
Indian Premier League - Champions and Finalist

Mumbai Indians can proudly boast of their track record in the IPL. The Mumbai side been crowned champions twice in 2013 and 2015 and ended up as losing finalist to CSK in 2010.

Kolkata Knight Riders who struggled in the first couple of seasons have turned around their performance to emerge as a dominant side in the last few seasons.

The SRK owned team has an impeccable record in the finals winning the title (2012,2014) both times they have featured in the summit clash. Apart from CSK,MI and KKR, Rajasthan Royals (2008), Deccan Chargers (2009) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016) have one IPL title in their kitty.

Rajasthan won the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008.It is notable that Royal Challengers Bangalore have made it to the finals thrice (2009,2011,2016) but ended up on the losing side on all three occasions. Meanwhile, Deccan Chargers led by their inspirational captain Adam Gilchrist surprised many by lifting the title in 2009 after a dismal 2008 campaign.Delhi Daredevils, Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants have never made it to the finals of the IPL.

So in nutshell CSK, Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knightriders have been the dominant side of the IPL with two wins each.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Apr 2017, 02:58:00 PM