News Nation Logo

IPL 2017: From Gayle to Warner, Tendulkar to Kohli, look into Orange Cap winners across previous editions

The Indian Premier League Is A Battleground Where The Best Exponents Of The Willow Express Their Skill And Pedigree.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 03 Apr 2017, 12:52:45 PM
Indian Premier League - Chris Gayle has won the Orange Cap in 2011,2012 seasons- File Photo

New Delhi:

The Indian Premier League is a battleground where the best exponents of the willow express their skill and pedigree.The best in the world try to produce belligerent knocks for their respective franchise with an underlying objective to make a notable contribution to their side’s winning cause.

There is a battle between the premier stroke-makers to be hailed as the best in the tournament by leading the run-scoring charts. The 'Orange Cap' is something every batsman dreams of donning at the end of an IPL season. Over the years we have seen some batting maestros churning out brilliant performances with the bat all through the season and lifting the coveted trophy.

While there have been bludgeoners like the Jamaican power hitter Chris Gayle, Aussie diminutive opener David Warner and the big and burly Matthew Hayden who have blasted away oppositions, there have been some elegant stroke-makers like Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Shaun Marsh and Michael Hussey who have made a statement with their refined aggression mixed with a bit of flamboyance.

Indian Premier League - Orange Cap Winners
Indian Premier League - Orange Cap Winners

So here is a look at the winners of the Orange Cap winners in the previous editions of the IPL.

Aussie opener Shaun Marsh who has been Mr. Consistent for Kings Eleven Punjab with the bat was the winner of the Orange Cap in the inaugural 2008 season. Chris Gayle who has produced some whirlwind knocks for the RCB with his power-packed hitting ended up with the Orange Cap in 2011 and 2012 season.

Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar was in ominous form with the bat in the 2010 season as his 618 runs helped Mumbai Indians reach the finals against CSK. 'Mr Cricket' turned out 'Mr. Dependable' for Chennai Super Kings in 2013 by laying a solid platform for his team all through the season with a staggering 733 runs with the willow. David Warner’s explosive form was a guiding force behind Sunrisers Hyderabad winning the Indian Premier League last season.

Robin Uthappa proved to be KKR’s batting lynchpin all season as scored 660 runs to play an important role in KKR’s winning campaign in 2014. Aussie Pocket dynamite David Warner amassed 563 runs for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2015 season.Last but not the least, Virat Kohli's superlative form in 2016 with the bat which produced a mammoth 973 runs steered RCB to the finals of the IPL.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Apr 2017, 11:41:00 AM