News Nation Logo


Virat leads ICC ODI Team of the year; Rohit and Jadeja make the cut in the team

Virat Kohli Has Been Named As Captain Of The ICC ODI Team Of The Year, Which Includes Three Australians, Indians, South Africans Each, And One Each From England And West Indies. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma And Ravindra Jadeja Are The Three Indian Players Who Made It To The Honourable List.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Saurabh Kumar | Updated on: 22 Dec 2016, 03:54:19 PM
 ICC ODI Team of the Year

New Delhi:

Virat Kohli has been named as captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year, which includes three Australians, Indians, South Africans each, and one each from England and West Indies. Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja are the three Indian players who made it to the honourable list.

Lets have a look at their overall performance -

Virat Kohli

Indian batting ace Virat Kohli was in superlative form in the ODI format all through the season. He seems to be going through a purple patch with the bat. He had not just been prolific in the limited over format, but has excelled with the willow in Test and the T-20 format too.

In 10 ODIs, he compiled 739 runs at an astounding average of 92.37, scoring as many as three centuries and four fifties. He has mastered the art of chasing big totals for India and has taken the team home many times all through the season.

Read | ICC Awards 2016: Here's full list of winners

In the longer format, he seems to be relishing the challenge of captaincy and his form with the bat has also improved by leaps and bounds, with him scoring three triple tons in 2016. Kohli was second to none in the T-20 format as he scored a plethora of runs for India in both the ICC World T-20 and the Asia T-20 event, ending up as the highest run scorer for India.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has been a prolific run scorer for India in the limited overs format in the period taken into consideration for the Awards. The Mumbai Indians skipper had a brilliant series with the bat against the visiting South Africans and India’s tour Down Under. He consistently was among the runs against quality seam bowling notching up three centuries against the Aussies and the Proteas opening the batting.

Ravichandran Ashwin becomes third Indian player to win ICC Cricketer of Year award

Ravindra Jadeja

The Saurashtra-born all-rounder, though in and out of the team for the season played his role as an all-rounder to perfection and added depth to the Indian squad. Jadeja has produced some quick fire cameos down the order and helped to compliment the Indian spin attack.

He was once again exceptional with his fielding all through the season.Jadeja came back into the Indian Test team after recovering from an injury which ruled him out of the NZ Test series.He complimented Ashwin brilliantly with the ball and picked up wickets.He also showcased his value as a batting all rounder by scoring a 90 in the third Test at Mohali.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 Dec 2016, 01:34:00 PM