News Nation Logo

ICC announces updated version of DLS system, ICC Code of Conduct

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 29 Sep 2018, 01:37:43 PM
ICC annonces updated version of DLS system, ICC Code of Conduct  (Photo: ICC Website)

New Delhi:

The International Cricket Council on Saturday (September 29) released the revised version of the controversial Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) along with the updated ICC Playing Conditions and ICC Code of Conduct, that will come into effect from September 30, when South Africa lock horns with Zimbabwe in the first One-Day International (ODI) of their series, which will be played in Kimberley.

REVISED Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS)

This is the second update for the third version of the DLS System since its inauguration in 2014.

The DLS has been put into play alongside ball-by-ball analysis of scoring, including the powerplays that have been played during the previous four years. So, that means the current revision is based on the 700 ODIs and 428 T20Is.

The latest update has stated that the teams speed up their scoring towards the end of an innings and the average scores have shot up in the ODIs.

The updated version of the DLS have revised the scoring patterns between ODI (final 20 overs) and T20 matches in both men and women’s cricket matches.

ALSO READ: Did Cristiano Ronaldo rape American model in Las Vegas?


Meanwhile, some new charges and change in the level of existing offenses have been introduced and revised in the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Staffs, which will also come into play from September 30.

Attempting to gain and unfair advantage (cheating, other than ball-tampering (New offence) – Level 2 and 3

Personal Abuse (New Offence) - Level 2 and 3

Audible obscenity (New Offence) – Level 1

Disobeying an umpire’s instructions (New offence) – Level 1

Changing the condition of the ball – Revised to level 3 from level.

Match referees are now bound to hear the Level 1, 2 and 3 charged with Judicial Commissioner getting the responsibility of Level 4 charges and appeals.

The maximum sanction for a Level 3 offence has been increased from eight suspension points to 12 suspension points (equivalent to 6 Test matches or 12 ODIs). Whereas, Match referees will now hear Level 1, 2 and 3 charges with a Judicial Commissioner only hearing Level 4 charges and appeals.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Sep 2018, 01:35:51 PM