News Nation Logo

IPL 2017 | Royal Challengers Bangalore, Team Preview: Can RCB win it this time?

Lost In The Finals Last Year, Runners-up Three Times In IPL History, But Can Virat Kohli's Royal Challengers Bangalore Win It This Time Around?

By : Manas Dwivedi | Updated on: 05 Apr 2017, 03:47:51 PM
IPL 10 | Royal Challengers Bangalore, Team Preview: Can RCB win it this time? (source: CNM sports)

New Delhi :

Royal Challengers Bangalore, the glamour boys of IPL, every season you talk of RCB and say wow! What a line-up but still they haven't been able to win an IPL title yet. Three-time finalist and coming really close to winning IPL in 2016, can they break the jinx this time?

One of the strongest team on paper this IPL, RCB have a star-studded squad with the likes of Virat Kohli, AB Devilliers, Shane Watson, Chris Gayle and newly inducted Tymal Mills, RCB had their best chance of lifting the IPL trophy last year in Season 9.

After performing exceptionally well throughout the season 9, they fell short of one win against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the finals.

Although, there have been a few jerks right before the start of this year's journey with a number of injury woes in the side. Apart from explosive batsman KL Rahul who has been ruled out for the complete season, Skipper Virat Kohli, AB Devilliers and young 19-year-old Sarfaraz Khan will stay in the dug-out for the initial phase of Season 10.

IPL 10: Kevin Pietersen to make debut in commentary box with Michael Clarke; no signs of Harsha Bhogle

So can they win it this year? Well for the start they have got the best six players of the game with a better and more fierce bowling line-up than last year. Also, they would like to capitalise new players they have bought in the latest IPL auction.

Let's look at Royal Challengers Bangalore’s squad for IPL 10:

# Key Players

Like always, RCB's strength has been a good start. So for building team's innings, openers have to perform. With the big gun like Chris Gayle, RCB can firepower their start. In the absence of KL Rahul and Virat Kohli, Shane Watson might open for first few matches.

In the middle order, star batsman AB Devillers will provide backbone support to the team with equal support from Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jhadav.

Also Read | IPL 2017 | Team Preview: Will Gujarat Lions roar loud in season 10?

All-rounder Shane Watson needs to repeat the explosive for which he was known at his previous team Rajasthan Royals.

Bowlers would also like to buck up their contribution with the tight attack at the start and an economical spell at the death. Tymal Miss would be crucial to spearhead the pace attack, while a lot of responsibility would be on young Yuzvendra Chahal's shoulders to provide regular breakthroughs at crucial intervals.

# Strength

One of the best batting units with Gayle, Kohli, De Villiers and Watson, RCB looks the most formidable side with a perfect balance of foreign and domestic players.

# Weakness

Bowling has been the main concern for RCB. With some ordinary bowling last year, RCB struggled in defending big totals. Without the presence of Mitchell Starc and a consistent Indian bowler, the Bangalore has to live up to the expectations to clinch the title this time.

Read More | IPL 10: KKR aims to ride high with ‘Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo’ theme again | Team preview

# Prediction

Right now, RCB is a depleted team with a lot of injury issues, but still, their explosive batting can destroy any team in the IPL. With a reinforced bowling attack, RCB looks good to put up a decent show.

But as always, what will be more crucial more RCB is consistency. They have to hold up tight as a unit at crunch moments and will have to perform collectively.

# Full squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Samuel Badree, Iqbal Abdulla, Travis Head, Sachin Baby, Avesh Khan, Tabraiz Shamsi, Pawan Negi, Tymal Mills, Aniket Choudhary, Praveen Dubey, Billy Stanlake, Harshal Patel, Mandeep Singh, Adam Milne, Sarfaraz Khan, S Aravind.

Head Coach: Daniel Vettori

Also Read | IPL 10: Kings XI Punjab ready to pack punch with 4 M's; Marsh, Maxwell, Miller, Morgan

# Big purchases at IPL 2017 auction:

Tymal Mills (Rs 12 crore), Aniket Choudhary (Rs 2 crore), Pawan Negi (Rs 1 crore)

# Past performances in IPL

2016 - Runners-up; 2015 - third place; 2014 - seventh place; 2013 - fifth place; 2012 - fifth place; 2011 - runners-up; 2010 - third place; 2009 - runners-up; 2008 - seventh place.


April 5 SRH (away); April 8 v DD (home); April 10 v KXIP (away); April 14 v MI (home); April 16 v RPS (home); April 18 v GL (away); April 23 v KKR (away); April 25 v SRH (home); April 27 v GL (home); April 29 v RPS (away); May 1 v MI (away); May 5 v KXIP (home); May 7 KKR (home); May 14 v DD (away).

Read More | IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians major title contender with heavy batting arsenal, potent bowling attack

RCB: Team composition
RCB: Team composition

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Apr 2017, 12:03:00 PM