News Nation Logo

IPL 2017 Final RPS vs MI: Two-time champions Mumbai Indians chase history, set sight on winning their third IPL trophy

Two-time Champions Mumbai Indians Shall Be Locking Horns Against Rising Pune Supergiants In The Grand Finale Of The 2017 IPL Season Later On Sunday Evening At The Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium In Hyderabad. The Clash Between The Two Sides Has Been Rightfully Dubbed As The 'Maharashtra Derby' By Fans Across The IPL Fraternity. While Rising Pune Supergiants Have Been The Nemesis Of Mumbai Indians This Season, Beating Them On All Three Occasions, Mumbai Would Like To Extract Sweet Revenge Against Their Opponents By Winning The Match That Matters The Most, The Grand Finale.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Prakhar Sharma | Updated on: 21 May 2017, 02:05:56 PM
Rohit Sharma captain of Mumbai Indians (Twitter Image)

New Delhi:

Two-time champions Mumbai Indians shall be locking horns against Rising Pune Supergiants in the grand finale of the 2017 IPL season later on Sunday evening at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The clash between the two sides has been rightfully dubbed as the 'Maharashtra Derby' by fans across the IPL fraternity. While Rising Pune Supergiants have been the nemesis of Mumbai Indians this season, beating them on all three occasions, Mumbai would like to extract sweet revenge against their opponents by winning the match that matters the most, the grand finale. 

Mumbai Indians had yet another stellar season topping the league table by winning 10 out of their 14 games. With 20 points in their kitty,

Mumbai Indians sailed into the play-offs as the Number One qualifier. Mumbai were given a little bit of a wake up call, losing their qualifier to Rising Pune Supergiants but recovered strongly to beat Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier to make it to their fourth IPL finals.

Here is a look at why Mumbai Indians are considered one of the powerhouses of IPL even since the inception of the league.

Two IPL Titles 

Mumbai Indians are the only team besides Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings to have won the IPL title twice. They lifted the coveted IPL trophy in 2013 and 2015.

Four Final Appearances

Mumbai Indians are set to feature in four IPL finals (after playing RPS in the finals), second only to Chennai Super Kings who made it to the title clash a record six times. Besides featuring in the finals against Pune on Sunday, they made it to the summit clash in 2010, 2013 and 2015.

Seven Play-off Appearances

Mumbai Indians have arguably been the most consistent side in the IPL history making it to the playoffs for the 7th time in the 10 seasons  

2 Champions League T20 Title

Mumbai Indians are the only team besides Chennai SuperKings to have won the Champions League T20 title twice.They annexed the crown in 2011 and 2013.

Most IPL Matches won - 90

Mumbai Indians have won the most matches in the IPL history.The Blue Brigade are the runaway leaders with 90 wins under their belt.

Going by how Mumbai Indians have fared in the IPL over a period of time, they shall hold the slight edge over Rising Pune Supergiants in the title clash that will unfold later on Sunday evening at Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians are on the verge of creating history as victory in the finals against Pune shall make them the first team to have three IPL titles in their already glittering silverware. 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 May 2017, 11:14:00 AM