News Nation Logo

IPL 2017 | Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders: MI overpowers KKR to pull off stunner in nail-biting finish

Mumbai Indians Beat Kolkata Knight Riders By Four Wickets For Their First Win In The Indian Premier League.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Kanishk Sharma | Updated on: 10 Apr 2017, 12:02:05 AM
IPL 2017 | Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders: MI overpowers KKR to pull off stunner in nail-biting finish

New Delhi:

Mumbai Indians pulled off a thrilling four-wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders for their first win in IPL 10.

Needing 60 runs off the last 24 balls, Nitish Rana came up with fighting 50 off 29 balls before Hardik Pandya finished the job in dramatic fashion, smashing 29 off 11 balls.

Mumbai made a promising start through openers Parthiv Patel (30) and Jos Buttler (28), who shared a 65 run stand to set the tone for the chase.

It was the first win of the season for Mumbai while Kolkata suffered a painful loss after their 10-wicket win over Gujarat Lions.

Earlier, Manish Pandey smashed 81 off 47 balls to help Kolkata post 178 for seven in 20 overs.

The home side had won the toss and invited Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to bat first. 

Both teams had contrasting results in their opening games with Mumbai Indians losing to Rising Pune Supergiant by seven wickets while KKR thrashing Gujarat Lions by 10 wickets.

Read | IPL 2017 | MI vs KKR: Struggling Mumbai Indians look for win against upbeat Kolkata Knight Riders

Here are the highlights for the KKR vs MI match:


It is over now. Mumbai pulls off stunner to defeat Kolkata in a nail biter. 


Nitish Rana out. Blow for Mumbai Indians


Game on!!! 


Nitish Rana completes fifty.


It's Hardik Pandya's turn. Massive six


Nitish Rana refuses to give up under pressure. Hits a six


Woakes to Pollard, out Caught by (sub)Rishi Dhawan!!


Mumbai Indians need 66 runs in 34 balls. Last 4 overs: 39 runs, 1 wicket


Pandya departs. Caught behind. Mumbai four wickets down. Need 82 runs in 47 balls


Nitish Rana finishes the over with a six. Good batting by Mumbai Indians

# 11.03pm

Rajpoot to Krunal Pandya, FOUR, to deep mid wicket. Consecutive fours to finish the over


Narine to Rohit, out!!! LBW!! 


Out!!! Jose Buttler departs. LBW by Rajpoot. Mumbai now two wickets down


Parthive Patel departs. LBW


Now its Parthiv Patel's turn. Huge Six

# 10.39pm

SIX!!! That's a massive hit from Buttler


Parthiv continues his firework, hits another FOUR to settle himself down. Mystrey man Sunil Narine trying his best to break this partnership. Run Out attempt but Buttler is safe. Not Out from the third umpire. 


After 4 overs, Mumbai Indians are 38 for no loss. 


Buttler again goes down against Woakes. Ball is in the air, Lynn after it. He tries hard but misses it. It seems Lyn has injured himself while attempting the catch. An injury for Lyn will be a serious blow for them. He is out of field right now. 


It's a SIX! First maximum of MI innings. Buttler improvised it well and hit it down hard. 


Gambhir makes no change, Woakes continues with his second over. Out of line bowling from the English All-rounder with 2 wide bowls, but the ball is still swinging which is a good sign. 


After 3 overs, Mumbai Indians are 25/0. 


Trent Boult back for the second over and he starts with a WIDE. Good tight bowling with a dot and a couple of runs. One bad delivary and Parthiv hits it hard. Another FOUR. 


Two overs gone, Mumbai Indians are 15 for no loss.


Second over on. Englishman Chris Woakes comes to bowl. Parthiv Patel flicks down the ball on the third man to hit another FOUR


Jos Buttler joins the party. Hits Boult for a FOUR to end the first over. MI 9/0 after the first over. 


Trent Boult into the attack for KKR. Parthiv Patel starts MI's account with a FOUR


The second innings begins. Mumbai Indians openers out in in the middle to chase KKR's 179 run target. 


KKR post 178/7 on board. Mumbai Indians need 179 runs to win


Brilliant batting by KKR. Last 4 overs: 56 runs, 2 wkts


Malinga to Woakes, out


KKR 144/5 (18.0 Ovs)  CRR: 8


Manish Pandya completes a brilliant half-century


Chris Woakes joins Manish Pandey in the middle


Malinga to Suryakumar Yadav, THAT'S OUT!! Caught!!


Bumrah to M Pandey, SIX, to long on


McClenaghan to M Pandey, SIX, to third man


100 up for Kolkata Knight Riders at the expense of 4 wickets


Harbhajan to M Pandey, FOUR, to third man


Gone!! Yusuf Pathan departs


Mumbai have brought Harbhajan Singh into the attack to capitalise on early breakthrough


Bumrah to Chris Lynn, out Lbw!!


KKR | Last 4 overs: 40 runs, 2 wkts


Robin Uthappa


Gambhir departs, brilliant catch by by McClenaghan


Last 3 overs: 34 runs, 0 wkts


Free hit for KKR, 2 runs


Cracking shot by Gambhir, FOUR!!!


McClenaghan to Chris Lynn, FOUR, to fine leg


Four!!! Lynnn sends a Malinga delivery for a boundary


Chris Lynn, Gautam Gambhir open Kolkata Knight Riders innings


Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma wins toss, invites Kolkata Knight Riders to bat first



Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Gautam Gambhir(c), Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa(w), Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Chris Woakes, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Trent Boult

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Parthiv Patel(w), Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma(c), Nitish Rana, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan


Wankhede stadium, Mumbai

IPL 10: Know detailed schedule 

IPL 10: Know detailed squad of all eight teams

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Apr 2017, 07:06:00 PM