News Nation Logo

IPL 2017 | MI vs RPS: Brilliant knocks by Smith, Rahane guide Pune to 7-wicket win over Mumbai Live

The Second Match Of The IPL Season 10 Between Rising Pune Supregiants And Mumbai Indians Is Underway. RPS Skipper Steve Smith Has Won The Toll And Invited MI Side To Bat First.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 06 Apr 2017, 11:59:41 PM
Brilliant knocks by Smith, Rahane guide Pune to 7-wicket win over Mumbai. (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Rising Pune Supergiants put up a stellar performance on Thursday as they comfortably chased down the 185-run target set by Mumbai Indians in their opening IPL 2017 campaign in Pune. 

The hosts first tamed the Mumbai batting lineup by taking wickets at regular intervals and then made a mockery of a their Malinga-less bowling attack thanks to brilliant half-centuries by captain Steven Smith and Ajinkya Rahane.

While Ajinkya Rahane scored 60 off just 34 deliveries, captain Smith ensured that the stiff target doesn't go beyond their reach with his 84-run knock in 54 balls.


Earlier in the day, spinner Imran Tahir took three wickets for just 28 runs in a spell that kept MI innings in check.

The visitors began with a flying start but kept losing wicket at regular interval. However, they continued to score runs as well. Hardik Pandya rose to the occasion in the 19th over with three consecutive sixes and two boundaries to take his team to 184.

IPL 2017: Live Scorecard: Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant

Also Read | IPL 10: Eight opening ceremonies in eight teams home venues

Here are the highlights


Smith finishes off 2 sixes as Pune chase down 185-run target to defeat Mumbai Indians

# 11.41pm

Game on! Smith hits a six. Pune now need 4 runs off 2 balls


Tim Southee drops Dhoni at 10 in 19th over. Bumrah looks disappointed


Smith hits a boundary. Pune now need 20 off 12 balls


Hardik Pandya removes Ben Stokes, Pune 3 wickets down; MS Dhoni comes to the crease

# 11.12pm

With 8 wickets in hand, Pune look set to chase down the 185-run target. Need 49 runs in 33 balls


Smith hits Pollard for a six. RPS: 127/2 


Mumbai bring Jasprit Bumrah into the attack to unsettle Pune


Ben Stokes comes to the crease. RPS: 95/2


Ajinkya Rahane departs after third umpire gives decision in visitor's favour


Pune look comfortable in chasing the total with Rahane completes his half century in 27 balls while Smith looks to steady the innings. (RPS: 72/1)


Pune lose early wicket, Mayank Agarwal departs; Captan Smith comes to the crease. SRH: 36/1


Hardik Pandya propels MI score to 184/8 in 20 overs


Hardik Pandya on fire, hits three sixes and a boundary in a row for Mumbai Indians

Read | IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians major title contender with heavy batting arsenal, potent bowling attack


Kieron Pollard departs at 27, Mumbai now 7 wickets down


Now, Zampa scalps Rana, Mumbai 6 wickets down


Rajat Bhatia scalps Krunal Pandya. Mumbai now 5 wickets down


Rana hits Ben Stokes for a six


Now, Rajat Bhatia joins the party, scapls Ambati Rayudu. MI 92/4 (11.1 overs)


Rana hits Zampa for a six. MI: 74/3

# 8.44pm

Good over from Ben Stokes, just 3 runs from it

# 8.40pm

Imran Tahir strikes again, removes Joss Buttler. MI: 62/3

# 8.36pm

Bowled!!! Rohit Sharma departs, bowled by Imran Tahir. MI: 61/2

# 8.32pm

Another six from Joss Buttler. MI: 59/1

A fantastic over for Tahir, 7 runs and a wicket! After 5 ovs, MI 48/1

# 8.26pm

Gone! Tahir removes Parthive Patel


Second bowling change for Pune. Imran Tahir comes in. Patel welcomes him with a four

# 8.22pm

Wow!!! Joss Buttler hits Stokes for two sixes in a row

# 8.22pm

Mumbai off to a flying start with boundaries from both ends

# Parthiv Patel hits four at fine leg

# Ashok Dinda takes first over at Jos Buttler and Parthiv Patel take guard

Playing Eleven

Rising Pune Supergiant (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, Steven Smith(c), Manoj Tiwary, MS Dhoni(w), Ben Stokes, Rajat Bhatia, Deepak Chahar, Adam Zampa, Imran Tahir, Ashok Dinda

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Parthiv Patel(w), Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Nitish Rana, Jos Buttler, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tim Southee, Jasprit Bumrah

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma after the toss-  We are actually playing with 6 batsmen, Mitchell Mcclenaghan get back into the playing eleven. Southee shall spearhead the pace attack. Both Pandya brothers are in.

Toss: Steve Smith wins the toss, invites Mumbai to bat first

Pitch report: No sign of cracks. Looks like a belter of a wicket. Good covering of grass and reckon there will be a bit of movement for the fast bowlers.

IPL 10: Know Detailed Schedule

IPL 10: Know Detailed squad of all eight teams

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Apr 2017, 06:07:00 PM