News Nation Logo

IPL 2017| MI vs KXIP, highlights: Kings XI Punjab defeat Mumbai Indians by 7 runs

Kings XI Punjab Bowlers Helped Their Team Script A Thrilling Seven Run Victory Against Mumbai Indians At Wankhede Stadium.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 12 May 2017, 12:03:09 AM
IPL 2017: Kings XI Punjab defeat Mumbai Indians by 7 runs

New Delhi :

Kings XI Punjab bowlers bowled deceptively in the death overs as their team scored a thrilling 7 run victory over Mumbai Indians on the latter's home turf. They bowled the Mumbai Indians out for 223 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Kings XI Punjab batted brilliantly and scored 230 runs off their 20 overs. It was the highest score of this season's IPL and was scored via Wriddhiman Saha's excellent innings of 93 runs in 55 balls. Glenn Maxwell, Martin Guptill and Axar Patel too hit the Mumbai bowlers all over the ground to give Mumbai a 231 run target.

The highest ever chase in IPL history has been 217 which has been achieved by Rajasthan Royals. If Mumbai chases down 230, it will be a record chase.

Scorecard: Mumbai Indians vs Kings Eleven Punjab

It is yet another 'Do or Die' encounter for Kings Eleven Punjab who kept their play-off hopes alive by beating Kolkata Knight Riders in a thrilling encounter at Eden Gardens. Kings have to win both their remaining games and hope Sunrisers Hyderabad falter against Gujarat Lions to qualify for the playoffs.

ALSO READ: IPL 2017 | Mumbai Indians vs Kings Eleven Punjab, Facebook Live: Who will win? Let's see what experts say

As it happened: Updates of Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab match:

#11:57 PM

# Mumbai Indians 223/6 off 20 overs

# Mohit Sharma bowls a brilliant last over and helps his team earn a victory by 7 runs

# Mohit Sharma to Pollard, SIX, wow. Pollard is still keeping Mumbai in the hunt

MI 215-6 in 19 overs

# Brilliant bowling by Sandeep Sharma in the nineteenth over as only 7 runs come off it

# MI 208-6 in 18 overs

# Mohit Sharma to Karn Sharma, THAT'S OUT!! Bowled

# Karn Sharma hits two consecutive fours off Sharma's bowling

# Mohit Sharma to Karn Sharma, SIX

# MI 192 -5 off 17 overs 

# Pollard now goes for a biggie and its a SIX! It's a brute of a shot

# Sandeep Sharma to Pollard, FOUR! 

# Sandeep Sharma to Hardik Pandya, THAT'S OUT!! Caught by Wriddhiman Saha

# MI 175-4 off 16 overs

# Hardik Pandya too joins the party and sends Matt Henry's two deliveries for massive SIXES

# Pollard hits two consective SIXES off Matt Henry  

# MI 148-4 off 15 overs

# Axar to Hardik Pandya, SIX

# MI 137-4 off 14 overs

# Kieron Pollard too joins the party and hits another six

# Hardik Pandya hits Rahul Tewatia for a massive SIX!

# MI 123-4 off 13 overs

# Axar to Nitish Rana, out Caught by Guptill! Hardik Pandya comes to the crease

# Axar Patel is back into the attack

# MI 120-3 off 12 overs

# Rahul Tewatia to Rohit, THAT'S OUT!! Caught!

# Rahul Tewatia, right-arm leg break, comes into the attack

# MI 117-2 off 11 overs 

# MI 108-2 off 10 overs

#Nitish Rana is now joined by captain Rohit Sharma

# Maxwell to Simmons, OUT, Caught by Guptill! It's a fantastic catch by Guptill. The dangerman Simmons is on his way

# MI 104-1 off 9 overs

# Mohit Sharma to Parthiv Patel, OUT! Caught by Manan Vohra

# Parthiv Patel bludgeons Mohit Sharma as he scores three boundaries off the over

# MI 87-0 off 8 overs

# Good over for Mumbai as only 5 runs come off it

# MI 82-0 off 7 overs

# Simmons hits two sixes in an Axar Patel over

# MI 68-0 off 6 overs

# Mohit Sharma to Simmons, SIX

# MI 52-0 off 5 overs

# Parthiv Patel scores second boundary of the over, its another FOUR

# Ishant to Simmons, FOUR!

# MI 37-0 off 4 overs

# Ishant to Simmons, FOUR! 

#  MI 29-0 off 3 overs

# Ishant to Simmons, FOUR, a majestic shot

# Ishant Sharma, right-arm fast, comes into the attack 

# MI 23-0 off 2 overs 

# Parthiv Patel scores three boundaries in the over to give a flying start to Mumbai innings

# Matt Henry comes into the attack

# MI 10-0 in 1 over

# Sandeep Sharma to Simmons, FOUR, and Mumbai begins on an aggressive note

#10:10 PM Mumbai Indians come out to bat

# KXIP 230-3 off 20 overs.

# Two sixes are scored off Hardik Pandya's over

# KXIP 214-3 off 19 overs

# A good over is bowled by Mcclenaghan as 7 runs come off it

# KXIP 207/3 off 18 overs

# KXIP 198/3 off 17 overs

# Bumrah to Saha, FOUR to long off

# Jasprit Bumrah is back into the attack

# KXIP 190-3 off 16 overs

# McClenaghan to Shaun Marsh, OUT! Caught by Parthiv Patel

#McClenaghan to Shaun Marsh, no ball, SIX! 

# KXIP 173-2 off 15 overs

# Malinga to Saha, SIX! 

# Lasith Malinga returns to the attack

# KXIP 161-2 off 14 overs

# Shaun Marsh hits Harbhajan for a massive SIX

# Harbhajan to Saha, FOUR!

# KXIP 147-2 off 13 overs 

# Karn Sharma bowls a good over as only 6 runs come off it

# KXIP 141-2 off 12 overs  

# Harbhajan to Saha, SIX! The turbunator has been taken to the cleaners

# KXIP 131-2 off 11 overs

# Bumrah to Maxwell, OUT! Bowled

# Jasprit Bumrah returns to the attack

# KXIP 126/1 off 10 overs

# Malinga bowls as good over as only five runs come off it

# Lasith Malinga returns to the attack

# KXIP 121-1 off 9 overs

# This one is another biggie from Maxwell. He hits consective SIXES off the turbunator

# Harbhajan to Maxwell, SIX!

# KXIP 100-1 off 8 overs

# Punjab's 100 runs come up with the loss of 1 wicket

# Maxwell hits another maximu, another SIX! Whoa, it's a beauty. 

# Karn Sharma to Maxwell, SIX! It's a lovely shot and the Punjab captain comes to the party

KXIP 85-1 off 7 overs

# Saha hits three boundaries in the over as he hits the Mumbai pacer all over the ground

# McClenaghan to Saha, FOUR! Saha has kept the momentum going even after Guptill's fall

# KXIP 71-1 off 6 overs

# Karn Sharma to Guptill, OUT! Caught by Hardik Pandya

# Guptill greets Karn Sharma with two boundaries

# Karn Sharma, right arm leg break introduced in the attack

# KXIP 60-0 off 5 overs

# Bumrah once again bowls as good over as per the situation and gives only 9 runs in the over.

# Bumrah to Guptill, FOUR!

# KXIP 51-0 off 4 overs 

# Malinga to Saha, FOUR! It's an expensive start from Malinga. 19 runs are scored off his over.

# Malinga to Guptill, no ball, SIX! That's a maximum and it's a big no-ball as well. 

# KXIP 32-0 off 3 overs

# Bumrah bowls a tidy over as only 3 runs are scored off it

# Jasprit Bumrah, right-arm medium fast, comes into the attack

# KXIP 29-0 off 2 overs

# Saha hits two consecutive fours against Mcclenaghan as Punjab have a brilliant shot.

# McClenaghan to Saha, FOUR, nicely played by Saha, hint of width outside off. Saha waits on it, opens the face of the bat and guides it past the slip cordon, no one in the deep and the ball rolls away to the fence

# KXIP 13-0 off 1 over

# Hardik Pandya to Saha, FOUR, cracking shot, width on offer from Hardik and Saha punishes him

# Guptill edges Pandya and scores another FOUR

# Hardik Pandya to Guptill, FOUR! Its a cracking shot

# Hardik Pandya begins the first over for Mumbai Indians

#8:00 AM

Kings XI Punjab come out to bat as Marting Guptill and Wriddhiman Saha open the batting for them

Mumbai XI

Lendl Simmons, Parthiv Patel(w), Nitish Rana, Rohit Sharma(c), Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

READ: IPL 2017 | MI vs KXIP, Match Preview: Mumbai Indians look to spoil Kings Eleven Punjab's play-off dreams at Wankhede

Kings XI Punjab

(Playing XI): Manan Vohra, Martin Guptill, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Glenn Maxwell(c), Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Matt Henry, Mohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Sandeep Sharma

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 May 2017, 07:25:00 PM