News Nation Logo


IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians major title contender with heavy batting arsenal, potent bowling attack

Two Time IPL Champions Mumbai Indians Will Expect Their Star Players To Fire On All Cylinders And Win The Coveted Crown Once More.

By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 06 Apr 2017, 04:17:54 PM
IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians Team Preview (File photo)

New Delhi:

Mumbai Indians, the two time IPL winner, is captained by maverick Indian batsman Rohit Sharma and a strong contender to win the premier tournament’s crown this time too. The legendary Sachin Tendulkar is the icon of the franchise which is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries.

Mahela Jayawardene, the former Sri Lanka great has been appointed as the coach for the 2017 edition of IPL.Brimming with talent, MI has defied several odds before emerging as one of the top notch teams of the cash-rich league. Although the team struggled in its initial seasons, it achieved success later on and emerged as IPL champions in 2013 and 2015.

Also Read: List of Orange Cap Winners in Indian Premier League

Mumbai Indians Full squad 

Existing Players 

Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, J Suchith, Hardik Pandya, Jos Buttler, Tim Southee, Jithesh Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Punia.

New players bought in 2017 auction

 Nicholas Pooran (30 Lakh), Mitchell Johnson (2 Cr), K Gowtham (2 Cr), Karn Sharma (3.2 Cr), Saurabh Tiwary (30 Lakh), A Gunaratne (30 Lakh), K Khejroliya (10 Lakh)

IPL - Mumbai Indians Team Preview
IPL - Mumbai Indians Team Preview


Explosive Batsmen

A strong batting line up with explosive batsmen like Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Ambati Rayadu, Hardik and Krunal Pandya are enough to send shivers down the spine of opposition teams.Wicketkeeper batsman Parthiv Patel also strengthens the batting line up apart from exceptional lower order contributions by Harbhajan Singh.

Mercurial all-rounders

Amazing all-rounders like the West Indian duo of Kieron Pollard and Lendl Simmons apart from our very own Pandya brothers are capable of overturning games with their skills.Skillful hitting and amazing variations in bowling make these players outstanding performers of the tournament. Their agility and sharpness on the field add to the team’s already filled resources.

Deadly bowling line up

Sri Lankan spearhead Lasith Malinga has been the most successful bowler for Mumbai Indians in various editions of the tournament and this year also, he will carry the team’s fortunes on his shoulders. Former Australian spearhead too returns back to the Mumbai fold and is expected to add more firepower to the attack with his sizzling pace. Tim Southee, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Vinay Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard complete the pace-attack with their variations and speed.The spin department is taken of good care by the highly experienced Harbhajan Singh apart from Krunal Pandya.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Apr 2017, 03:13:00 PM