News Nation Logo

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians thrash Delhi Daredevils by 146 runs, seal first play-off berth

Mumbai Indians Became The First IPL Team To Qualify For The Play-offs As They Thumped Delhi Daredevils By 146 Runs At Feroz Shah Kotla Ground On Saturday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Kanishk Sharma | Updated on: 06 May 2017, 11:41:39 PM
A combination photo shows Delhi Daredevils captain Zaheer Khan and Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma.

New Delhi:

Mumbai Indians became the first IPL team to qualify for the play-offs as they thumped Delhi Daredevils by 146 runs at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground on Saturday. West Indian player Lendl Simmons, playing his first match of the season, hammered the Delhi bowlers all around the park during his 66-run knock while his compatriot Kieron Pollard hit an unbeaten 63 to torment the hosts. 

Daredevils lost its top-order quickly with young guns Sanju Samson (0), Shreyas Iyer (3) and Rishabh Pant (0) getting out cheaply. Pant came into the match after an inspiring match-winning 97-run knock against Gujarat Lions. 

Karun Nair (21) was striking the ball cleanly but was dismissed by veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh (3/22) in his first over. It left the hosts reeling at 31 for four inside powerplay overs.

Read | IPL 2017 | KXIP vs RCB | We let ourselves down with bat once again: Disheartened Virat Kohli 

They kept on losing wickets and their innings folded for a mere 66 in 13.4 overs. 

Earlier, Mumbai Indians put on board a massive 212 for three after being invited to bat first by the Delhi team.

(With inputs from agencies, more details awaited)

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 May 2017, 11:31:00 PM