News Nation Logo

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians will be eyeing to record their fourth title

It Wouldn't Be Wrong To Say That One Of The Most Formidable Teams In The Indian Premier League (IPL) Has Been Mumbai Indians. The Side, Which Also Boast Of On Of The Biggest T20 Fan Bases In India, Won The Lucrative League In 2013, 2015, And 2017.

By : Vedant Sharma | Updated on: 17 Mar 2019, 12:01:58 PM
Mumbai Indians will start their home season at Wankhede Stadium against Delhi Capitals on March 24 (Image Credit: Twitter)


  • Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are only teams to have won IPL title thrice. 
  • Rohit Sharma is the only player in the IPL history to have won IPL titles four times in first twelve editions. 
  • Mumbai Indians will start their home season at Wankhede Stadium against Delhi Capitals on March 24. 

New Delhi:

It wouldn't be wrong to say that one of the most formidable teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been Mumbai Indians. The side, which also boasts of one of the biggest T20 fan bases in India, won the lucrative league in 2013, 2015, and 2017. Education for the initiative is one of many initiatives which makes this franchise look different from the other. However, in the eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League, Mumbai had a below-par performance - as per their own set standards - finishing 5th in the points table, losing eight out of 14 games they played. Though after a horrific start to the IPL where Mumbai lost first five games out of six games, Rohit Sharma-led team tried to redeem themselves in the latter half of the league, but couldn't make up for the losses incurred earlier.

The side has some promising names with the likes of Yuvraj Singh and Lasith Malinga coming into the side. Other than the mentioned legends, Mumbai will also have the duties of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya, who have an ability to change the dynamics of the game single-handedly. 

With this, the side would definitely be eyeing to record their fourth IPL title under the leadership of Rohit Sharma in the upcoming season of this cash-rich league. Going by the permutations and the combinations, Mumbai Indians has been winning on the odd year's since 2013, so can 2019 be their year? 

Mumbai Indians complete squad: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Jasprit Bumrah, Quinton De Kock (wk), Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Jason Behrendorff, Rahul Chahar, Ben Cutting, Ishan Kishan, Pankaj Jaiswal, Siddesh Lad, Evin Lewis, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Adam Milne, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rasikh Salam, Anukul Roy, Barinder Sran, Aditya Tare, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh

Support Staff:

Coach: Mahela Jayawardene 

Batting coach: Robin Singh

Bowling coach: Shane Bond

Fielding coach: James Pamment

Physiotherapist: Nitin Patel

Two Indian Players to watch out for:

Hardik Pandya: 

The limelight would definitely be on Hardik Pandya as he will be in action after a long time, and eyeing the forthcoming World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be more interested to see how he performs in the T20 league than Mumbai Indians. 

Yuvraj Singh:

The left-handed southpaw will be in action once again and with the amount of experience he carries in the limited-overs format can be vital for team India. Further, with India struggling to find a proper number four batsman for the World Cup, his form can only help him to feature in another ICC tournament. 

Two Foreign Players to watch out for:

Quinton De Kock: 

De Kock, who was with Royal Challengers Bangalore last season will be seen in blue colors. He has been in some prime form against the ongoing series against Sri Lanka and would want to continue his dream run going into this big tournament. 

Adam Milne:

Though New Zealand squad looks almost certain for the World Cup, in cricket, there is always a chance to chip in. Seeing this scenario, Milne would want to put his best foot forward and be hopeful for getting his name in the final squad.

Past Records:

2008: 5th
2009: 7th
2010: 2nd
2011: 3rd
2012: 4th
2013: Winner 
2014: 4th
2015: Winner
2016: 5th
2017: Winner
2018: 5th 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Mar 2019, 12:01:29 PM