News Nation Logo


IPL: Delhi Daredevils change their franchise name to Delhi Capitals

Before The 2018 Edition, The GMR Group Inked A 50-50 Partnership Deal With Mumbai-based Steel Company Jindal South West (JSW) Sports For The Ownership Of The Team.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 04 Dec 2018, 06:00:43 PM
The new name was announced by Delhi’s team management and top bosses who conducted an official event on Tuesday. (PTI/file)

New Delhi:

The Indian Premier League team Delhi Daredevils will be rebranded as the Delhi Capitals this season. The new name was announced by Delhi’s team management and top bosses who conducted an official event on Tuesday. The franchise also released a new logo on the occasion.

The Delhi-based team was purchased by the GMR Group for a sum of $84 million in January 2008. Before the 2018 edition, the GMR Group inked a 50-50 partnership deal with Mumbai-based steel company Jindal South West (JSW) Sports for the ownership of the team.

The 2018 was a forgettable season for the Daredevils who ended at the bottom of the points table out of eight teams. With the new name, the franchise is hoping for better fortunes in the next season, with Sunrisers Hyderabad trading Shikhar Dhawan to the Delhi team.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Dec 2018, 05:26:48 PM