News Nation Logo

Jayasuriya returns as chief selector

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Today Announced The Return Of Sanath Jayasuriya As The Chief Selector, A Little More Than A Year Since He Stepped Down From The Post.

PTI | Updated on: 27 Apr 2016, 08:39:27 PM


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) today announced the return of Sanath Jayasuriya as the chief selector, a little more than a year since he stepped down from the post.

The new selection committee will start its operation on May 1 and will serve for two-year term.  The four-member panel comprises wicketkeeper-batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, former offspinner Ranjith Madurasinghe and former fast bowler Eric Upashantha, besides Jayasuriya.

Kaluwitharana, who formed the destructive opening partnership with Jayasuriya in the 1996 World Cup victory, was Sri Lanka ‘A’ team coach for a number of years, while Madurasinghe, a Test player in the 80s, has served before on the panel, and Upashantha was a member of the national team in the late 90s.

The previous selection panel was headed by Aravinda de Silva. SLC had asked for reinstating Jayasuriya as chief selector for several weeks, but was awaiting the Sports Minister’s approval.

The new committee was formed as soon as SLC got the green signal from the Sports Ministry. Jayasuriya had earlier held the post from January 2013 to March 2015.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Apr 2016, 08:35:00 PM

Related Tags:

Sanath Jayasuriya