News Nation Logo

Kapil Dev wishes 'good luck' to U19 players for World Cup

Former India Captain And Legendary All-rounder Kapil Dev Today Wished Good Luck To The Players Taking Part In The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup In Bangladesh, Saying That This Is An Opportunity For Them To “write Their Own Destiny'.

PTI | Updated on: 26 Jan 2016, 02:19:31 PM

New Delhi :

Former India captain and legendary all-rounder Kapil Dev today wished good luck to the players taking part in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Bangladesh, saying that this is an opportunity for them to “write their own destiny”.

“Good luck to all the boys participating in the tournament. They can write their own destiny,” said Dev, who led India to victory in the 1983 World Cup.

“Many Test and one-day teams are going through a transition phase and the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup will enable them to take a look at the young players. We have seen so many young boys become men after this tournament,” added Dev.

Kapil also said the likes of Virat Kohli, Hashim Amla, Steven Smith, Kane Williamson and Joe Root, who came through the Under-19 World Cup, are the “biggest inspiration for young cricketers”.

A number of national coaches also wished the Under-19 players best of luck for the tournament starting on Wednesday in Chittagong.

New Zealand coach Mike Hesson wished the junior Kiwi team good luck and said he will be watching their performance closely.

“On behalf of the BlackCaps, I want to wish good luck to the New Zealand side at the ICC Under19 Cricket World Cup,” said Hesson, while adding, “Make sure you enjoy the experience and use what is a great opportunity to test yourself against the best in the world.”

Pakistan’s coach Waqar Younis also urged players to enjoy the tournament and serve as ambassadors of their respective nations.

“The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a platform for youngsters to showcase their talent in the big arena,” said Younis.

“In the modern cricket era, the tournament has gained in stature. Thanks to the ICC’s endeavours, it has emerged as a dream event with every young cricketer aspiring to be a part of it,” he added.

The biennial 16-nation tournament features nine Test-playing nations and seven Associate and Affiliate members - Afghanistan, Canada, Fiji, Namibia, Nepal, Ireland and Scotland.

On the opening day, defending champion South Africa will take on host Bangladesh at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, while at the MA Aziz Stadium, also in Chittagong, 1998 winner England will play Fiji.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jan 2016, 02:17:00 PM